Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2017, 12:47 PM
ihate100bees ihate100bees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nashville, Tn. USA.
Posts: 111
Default Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

Windows 10 Pro
i7's
32gbs Ram.

Today I upgraded to 12.7.0 from 12.5.2 with no problems. Seems fine so far. I'd like to move ahead to 12.7.1 ... but thought I'd check here to see if there are any issues different from 12.7.0 ? So are the waters safe, who's in so far??
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2017, 12:52 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,826
Default Re: Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

Well we are on Mac computers but 12.7.1 is much more stable both midi and cpu errors. Of course this is on our computers and may not apply to everyone.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2017, 01:01 PM
ihate100bees ihate100bees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nashville, Tn. USA.
Posts: 111
Default Re: Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

That's good to hear! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2017, 02:13 PM
elangab elangab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Israel
Posts: 7
Default Re: Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

12.7.0 was very stable on my Windows 10 machine (with only 8GB RAM), and 12.7.1 feels the same if a bit better. If you jumped to 12.7, you might as well go straight to 12.7.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2017, 02:19 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

Backup clone...
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2017, 04:01 PM
evilberg evilberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iceland
Posts: 60
Default Re: Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

12.7.1 is rock solid on my studio computers running 10.12.2 OSX
__________________
iMac 3.1 GHz i7 Quad Core, OSX 10.8.5, 16GB RAM, PT 10.3.9 & PT11
MBP 2.66GHz Intel Core i7, OSX 10.6.8, 8GB RAM, Pro Tools 10.3.9

www.einarvilberg.com
www.hljodverk.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2017, 06:56 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 527
Default Re: Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ihate100bees View Post
Windows 10 Pro

i7's

32gbs Ram.



Today I upgraded to 12.7.0 from 12.5.2 with no problems. Seems fine so far. I'd like to move ahead to 12.7.1 ... but thought I'd check here to see if there are any issues different from 12.7.0 ? So are the waters safe, who's in so far??

Thanks!


Working very well here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2017, 10:25 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,809
Default Re: Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

As always, dot-one versions should be better than dot-zero
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2017, 05:36 AM
EdwardG's Avatar
EdwardG EdwardG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: UK/Finland/Spain
Posts: 89
Default Re: Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

very crappy for me on mavericks, never had any problem with 12.5
12.7.0 and 12.7.1 turned out to be unusable, elastic audio bugs, impossible to bounce without restarting the session changing buffer size makes pro tools dissapear and a million more...

For me last version bugless was 12.5 on mac mavericks
I suppose doesn't apply for you but... just saying
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-04-2017, 05:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,809
Default Re: Should I make the jump from 12.7.0 to 12.7.1 ?

12.7.x is supposed to be ran on Sierra
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help me make the JUMP to Software Synths! toddamo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-20-2007 12:46 AM
Make the jump - 001(6.4) to 7.3(002R) w/currentPC? blizzard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-03-2007 12:01 PM
Should I make the jump to HD/TDM - your opinion? Rule62 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-05-2006 07:30 AM
001 to 002 make the jump?? HELP PLEASE!!! broken81 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-04-2006 09:59 AM
Ready to make the mac jump - advice please TFL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-07-2006 06:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com