Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2017, 02:48 PM
tdmwizard tdmwizard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6
Default Snow Leopard......how quickly we forget.

Rant Warning:

We had/have a huge investment in our TDM system that got moved into the B-room after the HDX system replaced it in our SSL A-room. A few months ago, my tech combed through the entire place, got all of the TDM/192 hardware together, built 1 beast Hackintosh/HD7 Accel setup, and sold the rest on ebay. We still use TDM quite a bit for legacy projects and such.

The machine is a dual socket 1366 Hackintosh in a 5U rack chassis, dual 6-core 3.46ghz Xeon 5690 cpu's, 96gb ram, Atto FC card, Nvidia 8800GT graphics, UAD Octo, Areca raid (for 2TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD local disk), Magma chassis card......running 10.6.8 Snow Leopard that boots off our HPE 3Par storage array.

This machine is a beast with every PCIE expansion slot filled and scores 28,000+ on 64-bit Geekbench.....right up there with the current "Trashcan" Mac Pro. Booted up and running, it has 37 running processes and 262 threads.

The A-Room HDX dual E5-2687W Yosemite system booted up and running has 108 running processes and 811 threads.

The HDX Yosemite machine is nearly 2x as fast on Geekbench as the Snow Leopard TDM machine.....yet PT10HD on Snow Leopard is snappy and seems a LOT faster.

Apple has filled the latest versions of OSX to the brim with bloated crapware that no audio professional needs......relying solely on the massive performance and memory of Intel x86 to compensate. Our firewall blocks huge amounts of outbound IP ports form the Yosemite machine. Secure as OSX is, all of the bloatware is just a huge security hole waiting to be exploited.

Steve Jobs was about elegance and efficiency in design. Apple now???......becoming more like Microsoft every day.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2017, 05:52 PM
RGrierson RGrierson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: MA USA
Posts: 85
Default Re: Snow Leopard......how quickly we forget.

Could you get the MotherBoard Make and model from your tech guy?
My dream is to build a Hackintosh like yours..............

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2017, 11:51 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: Snow Leopard......how quickly we forget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RGrierson View Post
Could you get the MotherBoard Make and model from your tech guy?

My dream is to build a Hackintosh like yours..............



Thanks


+1 on that please


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2017, 05:25 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Snow Leopard......how quickly we forget.

Buying a 2009 8 Core Mac Pro and upgrading it to a 12 core is so much cheaper, you end up with as much or more powerful computer and you never have to worry if the next OS update is going to cause issues.

It's what I did.

2009 Mac Pro - $350
2 6-Core CPU's - $300

End result, 31,000 geekbench score!

Not bad for less than $800 bucks!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2017, 08:52 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: Snow Leopard......how quickly we forget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Buying a 2009 8 Core Mac Pro and upgrading it to a 12 core is so much cheaper, you end up with as much or more powerful computer and you never have to worry if the next OS update is going to cause issues.

It's what I did.

2009 Mac Pro - $350
2 6-Core CPU's - $300

End result, 31,000 geekbench score!

Not bad for less than $800 bucks!
Hi

I really like this generation of the Mac Pro platform and would like to learn more about how to do the upgrade to a 12 core. . . I presume any of these Mac Pros will do the trick as a starting point:
2009 2.26 8 Core
2009 2.66 8 Core
2009 2.93 8 Core
2010 2.4 8 Core
Are all the above suitable?
Any other Mac Pro models that can be updated to a 12 Core Westmere?

From what I have seen, these 8-Cores are usually more in the $700-1000 range. $350 would be a steal.

I guess I will need to find out
  • Which exact Intel CPU model to buy, best source and any tricks for installation and heatsinking.
  • How to update the firmware
  • Can the clock speed be changed?
  • Any differences in the power supplies, or related issues?
  • Any other tricks/steps/parts needed?

I'll start googling, but if you know the tricks/steps and/or some great links to good info that would be great.

Thanks!

Howard
__________________
See my Public Profile for System Configuration Information
(Click on member name)

Last edited by Howardk; 03-09-2017 at 09:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2017, 02:57 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: Snow Leopard......how quickly we forget.

Looks a little scary: How do you upgrade the processors in the Early 2009/Nehalem Mac Pro models

Here is a link with general info on Upgrading a 2009-2010 Mac Pro.

Any other links of interest that I should study?
__________________
See my Public Profile for System Configuration Information
(Click on member name)

Last edited by Howardk; 03-19-2017 at 02:44 PM. Reason: Added link
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2017, 03:39 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Snow Leopard......how quickly we forget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdmwizard View Post
The machine is a dual socket 1366 Hackintosh in a 5U rack chassis, dual 6-core 3.46ghz Xeon 5690 cpu's, 96gb ram, Atto FC card, Nvidia 8800GT graphics, UAD Octo...
Ugh that graphics card makes me shutter.....like in a bad way



Quote:
Originally Posted by tdmwizard View Post
The A-Room HDX dual E5-2687W Yosemite system ......
My Win10PRO system has 1 of these CPU's and if you have two I am jealous!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by tdmwizard View Post
Apple has filled the latest versions of OSX to the brim with bloated crapware that no audio professional needs......relying solely on the massive performance and memory of Intel x86 to compensate.
Couldn't agree more

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdmwizard View Post
Apple now???......becoming more like Microsoft every day.
Yep, like that bad.....Pro Laptops that run MS Word and Safari
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How quickly they forget Jermak Windows 45 03-09-2011 02:35 PM
Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install joji Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 01-01-2011 02:21 PM
Couldn't get snow leopard install to stabilize from leopard clone update! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-11-2010 04:45 PM
Native Instruments Akoustik & Elektrik Piano Compatibility on Leopard & Snow Leopard DigiTechSupt Virtual Instruments 0 01-07-2010 11:08 AM
If buying Imac and MBox2 tomorrow: Leopard or Snow Leopard? Jairo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-22-2009 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com