Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2010, 07:43 AM
mattrussell mattrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 128
Default Trimmer tool fails to grab file

when i'm using the smart tool and i zoom all the way in on the end of a file, i can't get the trimmer to "grab" the end of the file no matter what i do. i have to zoom back out, grab it and trim the file, then zoom back in to see how close i landed on the spot i need it to land on. a pain in the neck to say the least.

has anyone else seen this?

my specs:

PTHD 8.04 (i haven't updated to CS2 yet, but this didn't appear to be covered in that update)
HD2, 96I/O
Lots of plugs
mac pro 1,1 - quad core 2.66
5GB RAM
OS X 10.6.4
__________________
--
http://www.gainstructure.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2010, 08:14 AM
mattrussell mattrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 128
Default Re: Trimmer tool fails to grab file

anyone? happening again today. along with something else that i'm about to post...
__________________
--
http://www.gainstructure.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2010, 09:16 AM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Trimmer tool fails to grab file

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattrussell View Post
anyone? happening again today. along with something else that i'm about to post...
before speculation, tell us what troubleshooting you have already done?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2010, 12:43 PM
mattrussell mattrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 128
Default Re: Trimmer tool fails to grab file

none other than trashing pref's. not sure what else i should be trying.
__________________
--
http://www.gainstructure.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2010, 01:54 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,187
Default Re: Trimmer tool fails to grab file

Yes, I see it every day.

Zooming out by a couple of steps allows me to grab the region’s end again.

__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2017, 02:37 AM
hdvidmeyer hdvidmeyer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wright city
Posts: 1
Default Re: Trimmer tool fails to grab file

help please PT 11>
when using trim tool to clean noise from ends up or add fades.. data wants to jump left and fill deleted void in timeline??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trimmer Tool TCE toggle... danander11 Pro Tools 9 0 09-20-2011 08:06 AM
How to UNLOCK trimmer tool PTcomposer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-17-2010 12:54 PM
TCE trimmer tool crash john1192 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-24-2006 09:15 AM
Grabber Tool Won't Grab, Can't Trim Unwanted Audio mhughes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-13-2005 03:02 PM
Trimmer tool (is this a bug?) sburgess Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-23-2001 01:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com