Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2016, 06:50 PM
fendergeek fendergeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5
Default Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

Hi all,

I'm working with discrete two 5.1 surround source files and I'm wanting to snap their embedded/original recorded timecode to the timeline in order to maintain sync across the two 5.1 microphones. I'm editing audio not to picture so there is no video timecode to worry about, I just want the source timecode to inform/assure synch across the session.

Can this be done?

Thanks for your help!

David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2016, 07:05 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,034
Default Re: Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

Spot mode is for spotting to time stamp. This is one of the four editing modes. Shuffle, Spot, Slip and Grid.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2016, 07:24 PM
fendergeek fendergeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5
Default Re: Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

Right, I'm fully aware of the modes. Can it be spotted to original timecode? In other words, spotted to the embedded metadata timecode.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2016, 08:02 PM
fendergeek fendergeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5
Default Re: Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

Sorry, the spot mode does work if it is individual audio tracks and on import you can select spot to source TC but it sends all the imported audio to that same TC value. I was hoping for a solution that spots all the unique files to their own specific embedded timecode but I don't think that is easy to do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2016, 01:23 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,393
Default Re: Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fendergeek View Post
I was hoping for a solution that spots all the unique files to their own specific embedded timecode but I don't think that is easy to do.
It's been a feature request for years. It's not possible.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2016, 10:55 AM
Leverson Leverson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 142
Default Re: Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

Right click on the file in the edit window timeline. Chose 'spot'. In the window that comes up click the arrow next to 'original time stamp' and it'll place that value in the spot window. Hit enter and it'll move that file to the timecode value embedded in the file.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2016, 12:08 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,697
Default Re: Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leverson View Post
Right click on the file in the edit window timeline. Chose 'spot'. In the window that comes up click the arrow next to 'original time stamp' and it'll place that value in the spot window. Hit enter and it'll move that file to the timecode value embedded in the file.
i am curious .. does the OP mean that Each Track in the 5.1 embedded (maybe not the right choice of words) has a different Original TC value ... !!!

is this correct ???
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2016, 01:37 PM
fendergeek fendergeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5
Default Re: Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
It's been a feature request for years. It's not possible.
Thanks Frank. I had a feeling it wasn't easy to do.

Leverson: I've tried that and it works for individual sources but I want to spot all imported audio to it's original TC values. Not just for one group of tracks at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-15-2016, 11:20 PM
dieffe dieffe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 84
Default Re: Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

No way to do that in pt. if you can extract the metadata from the files (with soundminer or some other software) and save a csv, excel file, etc it's fairly easy to automate the spot process with keyboard maestro, quickeys or AppleScript.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-20-2016, 12:07 PM
fendergeek fendergeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5
Default Re: Snap Audio Region(s) to source timecode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieffe View Post
No way to do that in pt. if you can extract the metadata from the files (with soundminer or some other software) and save a csv, excel file, etc it's fairly easy to automate the spot process with keyboard maestro, quickeys or AppleScript.
Woah. I do have SoundMiner. Please do elaborate! Is it a matter of extracting the embedded source TC into a CSV?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locating to source timecode philip_purcell Post - Surround - Video 18 10-07-2013 04:30 AM
snap end of region to grid? pinnacle Pro Tools 10 3 09-10-2012 05:46 AM
Key Command: Snap Region To Previous? Sonic Nomad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-31-2010 02:53 PM
Unwanted region-snap Wasaia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 07-08-2009 08:48 AM
How to view Source timecode? Wes Plate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-13-2008 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com