Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2016, 09:11 AM
nainesh nainesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 196
Default Including sends for bounces/stems

I have to prepare stems from a relatively large session (PT 12.5) which has various inserts and sends that id'd like to include on the bounce. Can anyone advise me on the best way of doing this?

I've been trying to use track commit but it seems that this will bounce the inserts but not sends.

Thanks

Nainesh
__________________
Home: Pro Tools 2018.12, Mac Pro 5.1, 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, macOS 10.12.6, 32GB RAM, Crucial SSD MX200, Audient ID22

Studio: Pro Tools 8 HD2, Lynx Aurora, Power PC

http://www.snorkelstudios.co.uk

http://www.flotationtoywarning.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2016, 09:38 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,533
Default Re: Including sends for bounces/stems

Quote:
Originally Posted by nainesh View Post
I have to prepare stems from a relatively large session (PT 12.5) which has various inserts and sends that id'd like to include on the bounce. Can anyone advise me on the best way of doing this?

I've been trying to use track commit but it seems that this will bounce the inserts but not sends.

Thanks

Nainesh
Your only real choice is either solo each part/s and bounce (realtime or offline)

or if you have PTHD, you can do a multi bounce.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2016, 03:33 PM
nainesh nainesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 196
Default Re: Including sends for bounces/stems

Okay, thanks for your help Drew.
__________________
Home: Pro Tools 2018.12, Mac Pro 5.1, 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, macOS 10.12.6, 32GB RAM, Crucial SSD MX200, Audient ID22

Studio: Pro Tools 8 HD2, Lynx Aurora, Power PC

http://www.snorkelstudios.co.uk

http://www.flotationtoywarning.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2016, 04:37 PM
studioj11 studioj11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 204
Default Re: Including sends for bounces/stems

If you are sharing sends / aux returns between tracks that need to be on different stems then yes the only way to do this to solo tracks for each stem print and then bounce. (i.e. 8 separate bounce processes for 8 stems). Also necessary if you're using any master bus processing that you want on each stem.

if you have individual aux returns for each stem, like separate reverbs for each stem (and you don't need master bus processing on your stems) then you can route your tracks to separate busses and multi bounce those busses in PT HD. if you're not on PT HD you can create Auxes to receive those busses and then use "Track Bounce" to bounce out your stems by track bouncing each aux at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2016, 10:26 AM
nainesh nainesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 196
Default Re: Including sends for bounces/stems

It's been really helpful guys, thanks.

What I did was to solo and bounce those with sends and then commit and consolidate the rest. All have the same start time so seems to have worked out ok.

My home studio is on 12.5 vanilla which means no multi track bounce unfortunately.


https://flickr.com/#/photos/magnesi/sets/
__________________
Home: Pro Tools 2018.12, Mac Pro 5.1, 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, macOS 10.12.6, 32GB RAM, Crucial SSD MX200, Audient ID22

Studio: Pro Tools 8 HD2, Lynx Aurora, Power PC

http://www.snorkelstudios.co.uk

http://www.flotationtoywarning.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2016, 06:46 PM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 483
Default Re: Including sends for bounces/stems

Couldn't you route all the tracks and auxes to the same buss and then create a new aux with that buss as the input and then commit that aux?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2016, 12:41 AM
nainesh nainesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 196
Default Re: Including sends for bounces/stems

Hi Benny, sorry for my stupidity but I'm not quiet sure what you mean. Any chance you could send me screen shot or something to illustrate this?

Thanks
__________________
Home: Pro Tools 2018.12, Mac Pro 5.1, 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, macOS 10.12.6, 32GB RAM, Crucial SSD MX200, Audient ID22

Studio: Pro Tools 8 HD2, Lynx Aurora, Power PC

http://www.snorkelstudios.co.uk

http://www.flotationtoywarning.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2016, 07:22 PM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 483
Default Re: Including sends for bounces/stems

Basically when you commit an aux it takes all of audio routed to it and makes a new file. So im saying try routing everything you need for a stem, including effects auxes to the same aux. When you commit that new aux track, you will have your stem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2016, 09:28 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Including sends for bounces/stems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny_Cha_Cha View Post
Couldn't you route all the tracks and auxes to the same buss and then create a new aux with that buss as the input and then commit that aux?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
This is what I was gonna suggest. Just commit the Aux tracks so it creates an audio file out of the aux signal.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2016, 12:57 AM
nainesh nainesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 196
Default Re: Including sends for bounces/stems

Sounds like a good idea/solution. I'll give it a go. Thanks.
__________________
Home: Pro Tools 2018.12, Mac Pro 5.1, 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, macOS 10.12.6, 32GB RAM, Crucial SSD MX200, Audient ID22

Studio: Pro Tools 8 HD2, Lynx Aurora, Power PC

http://www.snorkelstudios.co.uk

http://www.flotationtoywarning.co.uk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hd 10 including ilok vin7 Buy & Sell 2 03-23-2013 12:37 PM
10.3 upgrade including IEP Righty27 macOS 4 09-22-2012 04:50 AM
Sends default to -inf preference...resetting all sends to 0 Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 3 07-15-2011 12:10 PM
Copying Sends Levels between sends Premo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 09-27-2008 10:03 AM
TC template including spot? Saar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-20-2002 09:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com