Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2016, 07:42 AM
simonyeah simonyeah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 94
Default Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Hello

Say I have clips spread on different tracks and I want to regroup them on the same track.
Is there a way to do that in a faster than dragging all individual clip separately ?
Many thanks
Simon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2016, 12:09 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Sure. Create a new track. Open the Bin Window, Select all your clips on your old track, then drag the selection from the bin.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2016, 12:28 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,339
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

...and make sure you set Timeline Drop Order to Left to Right before dragging them from the bin.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 12.27.20 PM.png (67.4 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2016, 02:33 PM
simonyeah simonyeah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 94
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Thanks but I want the clips to be at the same position in the timeline that they were in the previous tracks. The trick with the bin does not preserve the position of the clips in the timeline ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2016, 05:20 AM
simonyeah simonyeah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 94
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

So not possible ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2016, 05:30 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,533
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Clip Groups.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2016, 05:42 AM
dieffe dieffe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 84
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

If I understand correctly what you're trying to do, try this:
- select the Object Grabber tool
- select all the regions in the first track, Control drag to move to the comp track.
- select all the regions in the second track, Control drag to move to the comp track.
- repeat until you moved all the regions
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2016, 07:54 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,533
Default Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieffe View Post
If I understand correctly what you're trying to do, try this:
- select the Object Grabber tool
- select all the regions in the first track, Control drag to move to the comp track.
- select all the regions in the second track, Control drag to move to the comp track.
- repeat until you moved all the regions

This.

I misunderstood what the OP wanted but I see now and this is the right answer.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2016, 08:14 AM
simonyeah simonyeah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 94
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

Yes this is what I want to achieve move all clips on one comp tracks.
I don't understand how you do it with clips group Drew. Can you elaborate ? Many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2016, 08:15 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,533
Default Re: Drag clips from severals tracks to one same tracks

I misunderstood and therefore ignore my post.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't 'Drag across multiple tracks' mrhappy1997 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-11-2015 04:49 PM
Consolidating Clips/tracks Tampaguitar Pro Tools 11 9 12-20-2013 11:33 AM
HELP! - Can't drag tracks to pro tools Tha Yungsta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-06-2008 11:31 PM
Drag Copy CD Tracks seems broke Mark Wheaton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-31-2006 01:23 PM
Removal of Clips & Pops on Tracks? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-29-2004 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com