Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2015, 12:52 PM
anubis27 anubis27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Fremont U.S.A.
Posts: 1
Default Getting audio from Dropbox to Protools?

Just wondering how to get audio files from Dropbox to Protools, thanks.
__________________
Macbook Pro OS X Yosemite 10.10.4 / 2.5GHz / IC i7 / 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 / Startup Disk Macintosh HD
Protools 12 LE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-2015, 01:06 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Getting audio from Dropbox to Protools?

if its a link from someone else just download the file then either use the import audio command or menu option or drag into pro tools from the finder.

if its from a drop box folder on your hard drive I think you can also just drag and drop into pro tools from the finder.

otherwise try searching "import audio" in the pro tools reference guide
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2015, 01:07 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Getting audio from Dropbox to Protools?

Save file to local computer

in pro tools - import audio to a session
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2015, 01:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Getting audio from Dropbox to Protools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Save file to local computer

in pro tools - import audio to a session
That^^^ unless its zipped(or otherwise compressed) in which case, you simply need to EXTRACT the zipped file first, then use the IMPORT AUDIO command in your PT session
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2015, 02:41 PM
studioj11 studioj11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 204
Default Re: Getting audio from Dropbox to Protools?

In my experience Pro Tools often has trouble seeing files in your local dropbox fyi. Sometimes it takes hours for the files to show up in the import audio window even though they are present in the dropbox. Best to copy the files to your session drive and then import or drag and drop as long as you have it set to copy imported files. Running sessions from your dropbox can also wreak havoc on a session and render it un-savable or cause other errors.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2015, 02:48 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,048
Default Re: Getting audio from Dropbox to Protools?

I do this a lot. Download from Dropbox to a folder on your local HD. If the file is zipped, you need to unzip it. Usually, I go to my PT Session drive, find the session folder, and make a special folder there for any downloaded audio from an outside source. Put your downloaded files in that folder. Open the PT session, use Import Audio and find the folder you just put the audio files in and import them to your session. Make sure the sample rates match!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-03-2015, 05:35 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: Getting audio from Dropbox to Protools?

If it's a session I will move it to my audio drive. If it's just wavs I'm importing into an existing session, I usually import it directly from dropbox. Just make sure you have PT setup to copy all files to the session folder. Been using dropbox daily for several years now, with zero issues.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11.3.2 Dropbox suggestion JChance Pro Tools 11 7 10-04-2015 04:12 AM
Quicktime Bounce No Audio once uploaded to Dropbox Intransit Pro Tools 11 2 05-28-2014 12:10 PM
Need Help with Dropbox File sharing SbrickwallS macOS 1 08-18-2011 10:27 AM
Dropbox transfers? Tom Case 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-16-2010 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com