Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2010, 08:55 PM
oliarnalds oliarnalds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 72
Default Plugin authorization problem

I know this may not be the right venue for this question, but i thought it wouldn't hurt to try...

i have the TC Electronics VSS3 Reverb and am more than a little addicted to it. Hands down my favorite software reverb... anyways, i've had it for a few months and it's been working fine, until one day i got a popup window "this version of VSS3 requires authorization again in order for you to continue using it..." etc.. like it doesn't see the license on the iLok.
If i click 'authorize' it will just tell me that the license wasn't found on the installed iLok.

I've got a separate iLok just for this plugin, but the iLok account says the license is still valid (shouldn't expire anyway). I have tried different usb ports for the iLok, re-installed the plugin, upgraded to the latest Pace drivers, even re-installed pro tools. The iLok itself seems to be ok though as it's green light always turns on when it's plugged in.

Has anyone had a similar experience?
The store that sold it to me has offered to take it back and check it out, but that will probably take weeks, and as i said above i'm quite addicted to this reverb...


----
Pro Tools 8.0.1
HD2
96i/o

MacOS 10.5.8
Dual 2GHz PowerPC G5
2.5GB DDR2 SDRAM
__________________
www.olafurarnalds.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2010, 10:00 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,033
Default Re: Plugin authorization problem

Does the iLok sync with your account? In other words, when you're in your iLok account, does it actually sync with and "see" this particular iLok?

I would remove any other iLoks that are plugged in and make sure this iLok syncs before trying anything else.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2010, 12:21 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,482
Default Re: Plugin authorization problem

Hi,

Yes as Jimmy says see if it is accessible via ilok.com. If it is you could try moving it to another ilok or a new ilok. as you can move auths between iloks in your own account!! this would eliminate any physical problem with the ilok.

also manually uninstall the VSS3 plugin from the plugins folder. system drive/library/app support/digidesign/plugins. then re-install VSS3 and make sure you have the right version (not a massive pack version etc)

finally install the latest pace drivers!!
and repair permissions

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2010, 11:41 AM
shootysurfy shootysurfy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 54
Default Re: Plugin authorization problem

Olafur, I'm a huge fan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2010, 04:02 PM
oliarnalds oliarnalds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 72
Default Re: Plugin authorization problem

That's nice to hear.. didn't expect to find fans on such a geeky messageboard.. :)

But thanks for the advices guys!
Re. Syncing with iLok.com - i bought it used so i don't have access to the ilok account it's synced to (This is why the store offered to take it back, so they can see if it syncs)

I tried installing latest version of VSS3 today again, and made sure i had the correct version. Have already upgraded to latest pace drivers... Will repair permissions tomorrow but got a feeling that wont help..
I'm also going to install VSS3 in my friend's studio and see if my ilok works there. If it doesn't then it's definitely not a matter of re-installing or messing with my computer..

Any other ideas for me to try out before i send it back?
__________________
www.olafurarnalds.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin Authorization help. snorgit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-31-2007 07:42 PM
plugin authorization tom devilution 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-03-2007 07:11 AM
PLUGIN AUTHORIZATION AND REGISTRATION PROBLEM seedsofvengeance 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-15-2006 10:40 PM
Plugin Authorization Problem Birdmaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-26-2006 05:21 AM
Weird plugin authorization problem w/ Win XP... Lethargy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-05-2004 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com