Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2005, 06:58 PM
Hogie Hogie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Torontarded
Posts: 185
Default M-Audio ProjectMix I/O

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_u...ixIO-main.html

I'm very tempted. I was thinking about getting an 1814 but now this has come along. It won't be as portable but hey, it has 8 pres!
__________________
Back to basics: Strat, DRRI, and pedals gallore.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2005, 10:45 AM
Sonny in London Sonny in London is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 557
Default Re: M-Audio ProjectMix I/O

It's awesome.

Much better than the 002 and cheaper to boot!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2005, 01:04 PM
DorianMode001 DorianMode001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
Default Re: M-Audio ProjectMix I/O

Yea I seriously want this. It's like my dreams have come true.

Joe
__________________
Digi 001
Dell 2400
Pentium 4 3.0Ghz
512mbs Ram
Reason 1.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2005, 02:06 PM
Mikey Ace Mikey Ace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default Re: M-Audio ProjectMix I/O

very cool interface indeed,
The only problem I see with it is it only has one fire wire port on the back,
where as my Fire wire 1814 has 2.

I am going to use the other fire wire port on the Fire 1814 for my external hard drive cause on my laptop only has one fire wire 400.

If I am able to connect my External hard drive to the Fire wire 800 then this would not be a problem.
Has anyone got the Fire wire 800 port to work for a external hard drive with Pro-tools M-power.

Besides that, if it dont weight alot and I can use the fire wire 800 port for my external hard drive, I am thinking about selling my fire wire 1814 for this, because it an all in one unit, and I was thinking about adding the mackie control later on anyway.

Mikey Ace
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2005, 09:31 AM
silverlode silverlode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 347
Default Re: M-Audio ProjectMix I/O

We don't yet know that PTMP will use the ProjectMix I/O as an audio interface....could just be the control surface part.

Also just want to say, looking at this product, the 002, and the Command|8...what the hell is Digi doing? First they come out with the 002, a control surface and I/O that will ONLY control PT...no MIDI spec or Mackie Control emulation for controlling other apps.... Then they release the Command|8, no I/O, a great control surface...controls PT and has a MIDI spec for generic control of other apps...no MCU emulation. Now the ProjectMix I/O, which emulates HUI, MCU, and has a MIDI spec, AND has audio I/O. It's confusing...

I just hope the ProjectMix I/O has quality preamps and converters. It doesn't have all the surface features of the Command|8 or Mackie Control...but it might be a happy medium.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2005, 05:57 AM
Hogie Hogie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Torontarded
Posts: 185
Default Re: M-Audio ProjectMix I/O

It will work at an audio interface for PTMP. It says right here on the first line of the description:

"record audio directly into Pro Tools M-Powered (not included) > industry-standard format"

This is the new flagship product for PTMP. (I expect something better like a 003 for LE in the spring). I use PT, Logic, and Live and the ProjectMix can control them all!

Yeah I hope the pre-amps are up to par as well. Hopefully as more magazine/online reviews come out, that will become clear.
__________________
Back to basics: Strat, DRRI, and pedals gallore.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2005, 09:33 PM
AdamF AdamF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 305
Default Re: M-Audio ProjectMix I/O

Digi-

Can you use this with an existing m-audio card? I have an audiophile 192. Having inputs from there and from this would be da bomb. Either way, MUCHOS PROPS!! WOOT!

I loved the talk at AES... "PT7 is awesome, I think Logic has a serious competitor"
__________________
My Website
My Setup
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M Audio ProjectMix I/O peter5992 Post - Surround - Video 2 09-16-2012 09:22 PM
PT 9 and M-audio projectmix johannesj Pro Tools 9 1 12-01-2010 09:20 PM
003 vs. M-audio projectmix I/O sos4e 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-09-2007 04:16 PM
M-AUDIO PROJECTMIX I/O Opinions? DustySpuds Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-04-2007 01:34 PM
Pro Tools LE & M-Audio Projectmix eviltobz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-19-2006 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com