Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 01-06-2020, 05:31 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 701
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
I've been using 2019.12 since the moment it was released. The problem is Catalina+2019.12. I have no intention to go to Catalina until all the codecs are supported again because it would cripple workflow.

And his point is MXF is all we need on Catalina to work with video. It's right there in his post to Mark.



No need to guess.
Are you suggesting that you would recommend a different wrapper to MXF to work with video under Catalina?

What a sad state of affairs it must be when even a simple act of trying to make the most of the ****ty software updates avid gives us is misconstrued as an insult. If you don't like Catalina + 2019.12, that's great... but for some users it isn't the problem. It is the only solution. So, by all means exercise tunnel vision and contort posts in order to take offence - as long as users are misdirecting their anger at each other rather than Avid, all will be ok! But do so knowing that next time someone asks you about video on Catalina, you have the answer...

"All you need to work with video in Catalina is convert your video to MXF wrapper instead of the MOV." Avid even made a neat little grid too, if people don't understand you. http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/c...e-Type-Support

__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-07-2020, 09:13 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,644
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

Seriously, though, I'm in bad need of PT First being made Catalina compatible. My boss, who sometimes records remotely with us via First, was just given a new MacBook Pro by IT because his old one was dropping out of record a lot. Of course, the new MBP can't run anything earlier than Catalina, so now our workflow is totally broken.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.10 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.12 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-07-2020, 02:28 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 250
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
Seriously, though, I'm in bad need of PT First being made Catalina compatible. My boss, who sometimes records remotely with us via First, was just given a new MacBook Pro by IT because his old one was dropping out of record a lot. Of course, the new MBP can't run anything earlier than Catalina, so now our workflow is totally broken.
PT First isn't at the same code level as 2019.12? I don't use it so I don't know.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-07-2020, 04:28 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,810
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
Seriously, though, I'm in bad need of PT First being made Catalina compatible. My boss, who sometimes records remotely with us via First, was just given a new MacBook Pro by IT because his old one was dropping out of record a lot. Of course, the new MBP can't run anything earlier than Catalina, so now our workflow is totally broken.
Are the newest MBPs hardware-limited to Catalina? Typically, even a new laptop can be wiped on Day One so that an older OS can be installed. Maybe the new MBPs won't allow it. That would put PT owners who need new computers in a tough spot.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-07-2020, 04:58 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,817
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Are the newest MBPs hardware-limited to Catalina? Typically, even a new laptop can be wiped on Day One so that an older OS can be installed. Maybe the new MBPs won't allow it. That would put PT owners who need new computers in a tough spot.


They were released post Catalina so can’t roll back to anything earlier unfortunately.

Most PT owners aren’t in a tough spot anymore since the 2019.12 release. The person with the new laptop is trying to run PT First which going by his experience, doesn’t seem to be at the same version release as the full PT app. Not sure. Don’t use PT First.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 01-07-2020, 08:18 PM
Anthony Jr.'s Avatar
Anthony Jr. Anthony Jr. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 126
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

To be honest, I moved to MXF video in ProTools about a year ago and it's been so much better to use than any other supported codec in the past. Probably because it's Avid's IP.

I'm mostly confused about public thoughts about converting their current video deliverables to AVID's codec. Works very well.
__________________
2018 18-Core iMac Pro / 64GB RAM / Mojave 10.14.3 / Protools 2018.12 / Apollo 8XP / Love
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-08-2020, 10:42 AM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 752
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

I don't care! My big Mojave rig runs 2019.x Ultimate just fine and I'm currently building a z97/i7 hack running Mavericks and PT 10.3.10. It's running very well with Thunderbolt Native and hope to have my Magma/HD6 hooked up and rolling by the weekend. Also my PT Ultimate update plan expired in December, NO MAS! I make records, not movies (but I have).
__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.6 Mojave

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-08-2020, 11:39 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,705
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

Is this deja vu? I come back to the forum because I purchased an update b/c avid twisted my arm.....

and I see the same posts as 5 years ago......


The new update won't run on the latest apple release

I just got a new computer and I can't run the older software release...


OMG literally the same post for the last (more than) 5 years.....


I love apple products too, but this yearly cycle needs to stop.....they are narcissistic about their software......it's really the gist of the problem that users have....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 01-08-2020, 12:07 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,785
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

Yea. How come people cannot take a guess if you buy shiny new hardware that only runs latest macOS then maybe you also need to have most current PT as well
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-08-2020, 12:50 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,810
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
They were released post Catalina so can’t roll back to anything earlier unfortunately.

Most PT owners aren’t in a tough spot anymore since the 2019.12 release. The person with the new laptop is trying to run PT First which going by his experience, doesn’t seem to be at the same version release as the full PT app. Not sure. Don’t use PT First.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Why couldn't you wipe the drive and install Mojave? We've done that with new computers many times (not Mojave) when the pre-installed OS wasn't yet compatible with PT.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Perpetual License with 1-Year Updates and Support (until 12/2020) smokeynyc Buy & Sell 7 02-11-2020 02:58 PM
Pro Tools reinstatement plans axed from Jan 1st 2020 noiseboyuk Licensing & Accounts 84 11-30-2019 09:01 PM
Avid drops Pro Tools reinstatement on 01-01-2020 Delta Music Belgium Licensing & Accounts 6 11-27-2019 04:19 PM
Avid announces Pro Tools 2020, 2021 and 2022! off the wall Pro Tools 2018 2 04-01-2019 09:50 AM
JV 1010 or XV 2020 petter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-17-2006 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com