Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2011, 06:01 PM
MJarzabek MJarzabek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 28
Default Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

Hi everyone,

Pro Tools 9.1
Mac OSX Latest
8 Gigs Ram
2 MC Mix
1 MC Control
1 MC Transport
MOTU 828 mkII


I was getting these "Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory and could not save the session." and "Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory and needs to quit."

So, I reinstalled OSX on a new SSD Drive, transferring nothing from the old Drive. Installed Pro Tools 9.1 from the Full Install download. All plugins are latest versions.

The session is stored on a seperate SSD internal drive.

After all I have done, the errors still come up. Nothing is running in the background according to Activity Monitor.

I have adjusted the Playback Engine settings and nothing helps. H/W Buffer Size 1024. 12 for Host Processors instead of 16, Long for Delay Compensation, 80% CPU (I've tried 70 - 99).

The DAE Playback Buffer (disk buffer) settings are Level 2, Cache Normal.

The Plug-In Streaming Buffer is Level 0.

What could be causing this problem. It never happened in PT 8.

Thank you all in advance.

Mike
__________________
Still working.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2011, 09:27 AM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,049
Default Re: Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

This happened to me when I opened a version 8 file in PT9. I imported the session into a new balnk session and I worked out fine.

Carl
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2011, 10:13 PM
MJarzabek MJarzabek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

Carl,

Thanks for your reply. I tried to import the session again but still, the memory error happens. There was a thread on here that someone posted which stated to hold down "N" on Pro Tools startup. Then select the interface and adjust playback settings. This has helped for a while but eventually the error returns.

Any other ideas?

Thanks again!

Mike
__________________
Still working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2011, 10:59 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

Digi says:

"Solid State Drives (SSDs) have not been tested or qualified for use with Pro Tools, either as system or audio drives."

What happens if you record to another drive?
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:43 PM
MJarzabek MJarzabek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

Thanks for the reply Park,

I had the session on different hard drives It happens regardless of the drive being recorded to. It does happen more frequently when data is imported from earlier versions of Pro Tools.

EuControl is running in the background for an MC Control, MC Transport and 2 MC Mix's. Could that be causing memory conflicts?

Thank you again,

Mike
__________________
Still working.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2011, 09:14 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

You haven't listed your Mac OS version. If it is 10.6.7, some users have reported problems. That version isn't approved yet.

What does the Activity Monitor say? Do you have other programs open? Is performance any better after a restart?

Have you done any RAM tests?
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:32 AM
MJarzabek MJarzabek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

The previous OS was 10.6.6, after the clean install it was upgraded from 10.6.3 disk to 10.6.7 with the download.

The Activity Monitor starts at 1.23 - 1.33 Gb of RAM. Then it slowly increases. It sometimes appears when it reaches the 1.7 area. If it passes 1.7, then it will run out of memory at 2.7 - 2.15. 2.15 is the crash.

The only other program open is Eucontrol. After a restart things vary. They are usually better or cause DAE Playback errors 9091. There is another error, It's 9031 or 2, I can check next time it happens.

I have not done any ram tests. How do I run a ram test?

Thanks!

Mike
__________________
Still working.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:34 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

You should have a set of disks that came with your Mac. One has hardware tests on it.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2011, 12:33 PM
MJarzabek MJarzabek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

So..... I reinstalled OSX 10.6.6, Pro Tools 9.0.2 from the full installer download and Eucontrol 2.5.7.....latest driver-software for Euphonix Hardware and MOTU's updated driver for an 828 mkII. I also removed all 3rd party plugins from the plugins folder.

When I run the PT Session with no Euphonix controllers or Eucon Software, there is no memory problem.

But when the session is launched with one or more controllers, memory does not discharge from Pro Tools. Watching Activity Monitor, Pro Tools Real Memory keeps going up and up. At around 1.7 Gb it gets shaky and at 2.02 Gb it crashes.

Any ideas??

Thanks again!
__________________
Still working.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2011, 06:02 PM
MJarzabek MJarzabek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools is Critically Low on Memory

Still having the memory problem. Any help?
__________________
Still working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Is Critically Low On Memory TinyE1017 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 35 02-08-2011 10:25 AM
Pro Tools is Critically Low On Memory TinyE1017 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-09-2010 01:56 PM
Pro tools LE 8 critically low on memory maxxer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-10-2009 07:22 PM
Pro Tools Critically Low on Memory & End of Stream Session Corruption End of Stream Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 9 08-23-2008 11:18 AM
pro tools CRITICALLY LOW on MEMORY???!!! DodgyDave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-27-2003 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com