Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2018, 06:10 PM
becka183 becka183 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 1
Default Which version of Pro Tools should I run?

Hello,
I just got a macbook pro because I want to run pro tools and I'm driving myself nuts trying to work out all the compatibility stuff and would love some opinions.
I have a mid-2015 MBP i7 16GB RAM running OS X 10.11.3 currently (I purchased this laptop as a refurbished 2nd hand product).
My gameplan is to just set up and run the same version of PT on the same OS (not upgrade).
Computer wants me to upgrade to 10.11.6? Any dramas with that?
I did have an old version of PT10 and Mbox to go with it, could that still be 'compatible' with what I've got now?
Can you pay for PT subscription and control (ie. not run) updates?
Feel free to recommend any compatible hardware?

Thanks for taking the time to give any feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2018, 06:55 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Which version of Pro Tools should I run?

Quote:
Originally Posted by becka183 View Post
Hello,
I just got a macbook pro because I want to run pro tools and I'm driving myself nuts trying to work out all the compatibility stuff and would love some opinions.
I have a mid-2015 MBP i7 16GB RAM running OS X 10.11.3 currently (I purchased this laptop as a refurbished 2nd hand product).
My gameplan is to just set up and run the same version of PT on the same OS (not upgrade).
Computer wants me to upgrade to 10.11.6? Any dramas with that?
I did have an old version of PT10 and Mbox to go with it, could that still be 'compatible' with what I've got now?
Can you pay for PT subscription and control (ie. not run) updates?
Feel free to recommend any compatible hardware?

Thanks for taking the time to give any feedback!
You really need to work out how to use the Pro Tools compatibility tables yourself to answer questions like will xxx version run on yyy operating system. Start at the compatibility links under additional resources up top of every DUC web page.

What version should you use... we have no idea. What are you doing? What plugin and session compatibility do you need? We have no idea.

Overall 2018.x is pretty good, seemingly more effort in quality/stability than in the past, worth upgrading your OS to if needed.

Pro Tools 10 is near museumware. 32 bit only, No AAX-64 plugin support, no recent OS support (and won’t be), no disk cache etc. Unless you need to be on it you are likely much better on a recent release.

Do you need compatibility with other folks you are working with, with Pro Tools versions? With what plugins? You need to research compatibility for any third party plugins.

You can find all the purchase options for Pro Tools online, you can upgrade from Pro Tools 10 to 2018 for around US$299 for a perpetual license then pay U$100/year for upgrades. There is nothing too “cloudy” about the software you choose when you want to upgrade it if at all. Look at Sweetwater.com Pro Tools pages, they likely won’t sell to you in Australia but they explain all the options better than Avid does.

If you really are new to Pro Tools even though you have a 10 license and unsure about what to do you can rent 2018 for ~$30 for a month to see if it all works then upgrade the license and keep using the same installed software.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2018, 05:20 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,234
Default Re: Which version of Pro Tools should I run?

Quote:
Originally Posted by becka183 View Post
Hello,
I just got a macbook pro because I want to run pro tools and I'm driving myself nuts trying to work out all the compatibility stuff and would love some opinions.
I have a mid-2015 MBP i7 16GB RAM running OS X 10.11.3 currently (I purchased this laptop as a refurbished 2nd hand product).
My gameplan is to just set up and run the same version of PT on the same OS (not upgrade).
Computer wants me to upgrade to 10.11.6? Any dramas with that?
I did have an old version of PT10 and Mbox to go with it, could that still be 'compatible' with what I've got now?
Can you pay for PT subscription and control (ie. not run) updates?
Feel free to recommend any compatible hardware?

Thanks for taking the time to give any feedback!
El Crapitan is probably the worst OSX Apple ever released. And there are compatibility issues with PT10 and EC; some are well known like the blank insert menus until you mouse over them and others. You have but to surf the DUC to find them. The last OSX that even ran PT10 without major issues is OSX 10.9.5; the only reason Avid doesn't consider it compatible is that the PT10 uninstaller doesn't work.

Other than what I wrote Darryl has the rest covered.

Oh and you might want to put your complete system info in either your sig file or your profile page.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2018, 06:05 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,826
Default Re: Which version of Pro Tools should I run?

And of course Welcome to the Community
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools requires version 9.0.6 or later, but CFnd provides version 9.0.0 Danishan90 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 10 02-10-2014 04:11 AM
Reason: Incompatible library version: Pro Tools requires version 9.0.6 or later, but Patrick H Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 11-20-2012 03:46 PM
OMF version 1.x. Pro tools only supports OMF version 2.x SoundLogicAudio Post - Surround - Video 6 02-20-2009 01:40 AM
This version of Pro Tools requires DAE version 5.1 or later. Josh Jagdfeld 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 10-09-2007 04:31 PM
I guess an XP version of Pro Tools will be here before we get an OSX version... ckerian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-11-2002 06:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com