Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2009, 12:23 AM
timstar78 timstar78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: California
Posts: 49
Default MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

Hi...I am hoping for some recommendations/help.

I have a late 2007 MacBook
Processor 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB RAM

I run Pro Tool 7.4.2 with a Digi 002 Rack and have a 500 GB Fire Wire drive.

A couple of my latest recordings have featured a lot of tracks and plug ins. The problem is that I still need to add tracks and I am starting to get the usual error messages regarding CPU power and buffer size. In my latest song, I am running plug ins such as EZ Drummer, Amplitube and TRacks 3 and it really seems to be slowing my system down. My Activity Monitor showed that 1.8 GB of my RAM was being used and about 85% of my CPU power.

If I upgrade my RAM to 4 GB, will this help my situation? Anything else I can do to improve the performance of my computer? Or, is my computer just not going to be fast enough to keep up with all this activity?

Thanks, in advance...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2009, 07:21 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,942
Default Re: MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

I have been told by two Pro Tools instructors, that 4 gig of RAM is the happy zone so it couldn't hurt. From what I have read, the T Racks stuff seems to take a lot of 'juice" and many of the amp sims do as well, so if you are using more than one of each, I would save the Amplitube settings as a preset and then duplicate the playlist and process using AudioSuite for your Amplitube tracks. When you get to this point, I assume you bump up the buffer to 1024?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:31 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,766
Default Re: MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

If you want a second opinion, getting more RAM is a good idea, but it's unlikely to improve performance of plug-ins all that much. Albee's suggestion about using A/S to print the plug-in is spot on.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:17 PM
timstar78 timstar78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: California
Posts: 49
Default Re: MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I have been told by two Pro Tools instructors, that 4 gig of RAM is the happy zone so it couldn't hurt. From what I have read, the T Racks stuff seems to take a lot of 'juice" and many of the amp sims do as well, so if you are using more than one of each, I would save the Amplitube settings as a preset and then duplicate the playlist and process using AudioSuite for your Amplitube tracks. When you get to this point, I assume you bump up the buffer to 1024?
Thank you for the replies. I've since upgraded to 4 GB RAM and that has seemed to help.

Could you elaborate on the AudioSuite idea? Currently, I have four separate guitar tracks, each of which have the Amplitube plug-in. I am not sure I am following what you are suggesting?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2009, 01:19 AM
state of the arb state of the arb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

I'm having a similar problem except I don't think I should be having one. I just recently purchased an Mbox2 Mini and I get the CPU & HW buffer errors often. Problem is my CPU usage in activity monitor doesn't even show 50%. I only have about 5 tracks (3 instrument & 2 audio) with two EQ's and one compressor. Surely this can't be right? It feels to me that my Pentium 4 running Cubase SX 3 could handle more and that simply can't be true. It will be the disappointment of a lifetime :)

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2009, 02:22 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by timstar78 View Post
Thank you for the replies. I've since upgraded to 4 GB RAM and that has seemed to help.

Could you elaborate on the AudioSuite idea? Currently, I have four separate guitar tracks, each of which have the Amplitube plug-in. I am not sure I am following what you are suggesting?
What they are saying is to render the plugin's effect to audio so you can eliminate the plugin. You can bounce to another track or use the audiosuite versions of the plugins to render "offline"
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2009, 02:26 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by state of the arb View Post
I'm having a similar problem except I don't think I should be having one. I just recently purchased an Mbox2 Mini and I get the CPU & HW buffer errors often. Problem is my CPU usage in activity monitor doesn't even show 50%. I only have about 5 tracks (3 instrument & 2 audio) with two EQ's and one compressor. Surely this can't be right? It feels to me that my Pentium 4 running Cubase SX 3 could handle more and that simply can't be true. It will be the disappointment of a lifetime :)

Any ideas?
Wrong forum.. Try the windoze LE forum. (or are you currently using a Mac?).You're also going to have to post more info like PT version, OS, etc...

My guess is that your p4 is behind the curve compared to core2 duo etc, kind of like g4 to intel Mac. Hopefully the peecee guys can help you optimize..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2009, 04:44 AM
state of the arb state of the arb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

I'm using a MacBook Pro 17". Sorry, only updated my details after the post.

I think I found the problem though. I assigned both processors to RTAS so there was nothing left for the Mac. I changed to only one processor now and it looks better, will check it properly tonight when I get home.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2009, 11:36 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,845
Default Re: MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

Also make sure you are recording to an external firewire drive (not the internal system drive and definitely not a USB drive).
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-14-2009, 12:11 PM
color me bad color me bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 26
Default Re: MacBook RAM/Performance Issues

^^how do you set up the changes to make the recordings go on the firewire drive?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on macbook pro and mbox performance issues TheElectricGhost 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-16-2007 02:48 PM
Mbox & Macbook Pro performance issues Sebastian C. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-23-2007 09:37 PM
Performance of Macbook (Pro) rmccam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-19-2007 11:05 AM
macbook performance Bologma Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 12 04-16-2007 10:16 AM
Performance problem on Macbook Pro Palli-Moon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-04-2007 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com