Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2016, 11:50 AM
JanuS JanuS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 242
Default Layouts compatibility S6 <-> S3

I'm preparing mixes on a S3 sometimes, and then go to an S6 to final mix.
Is there a way to open the layouts created in Eucon 3.5 in S6? And vice versa?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2016, 04:35 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,551
Default Re: Layouts compatibility S6 <-> S3

Unfortunately not...they are very different.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2016, 02:41 PM
JanuS JanuS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 242
Default Re: Layouts compatibility S6 <-> S3

But.. both Eucon..
I realize they're both (very) different, but both are able to save data in the .ptx file right? Aren't these data worth to be adjusted, so they can be at least be imported by the session data import command?

This is another way of saying: in the Icon days custom faders where stored in the session file, and could be used cross-platform; both on D-Command as on D-Control.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2018, 08:48 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 502
Default Re: Layouts compatibility S6 <-> S3

Just to take an informal poll here... How many folks would find it beneficial, important, useful to have compatibility between artist series layouts and S6 layouts?




Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2018, 12:13 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Layouts compatibility S6 <-> S3

I would. Home studio is on the S3 and work facility on the S6. It'd be great to be able to set up and prep on the S3 before taking over the S6.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2018, 03:13 PM
espron espron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 315
Default Re: Layouts compatibility S6 <-> S3

That would be very useful indeed.

Espen
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2018, 08:24 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 436
Default Re: Layouts compatibility S6 <-> S3

+1 here. Multiple rooms with various Artist/S3 and S6.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-27-2018, 08:11 PM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: Layouts compatibility S6 <-> S3

+1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-2018, 05:18 AM
megatracks's Avatar
megatracks megatracks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Lincoln CA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Layouts compatibility S6 <-> S3

+1


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S6 v2.2 and Layouts Bydy Pro Tools | S6 4 10-23-2017 02:15 AM
Layouts Peter Baird Pro Tools | Control 4 07-05-2016 02:04 AM
Pro Tools 12.5.0 Can Cause Loss of Backwards-Compatibility of Layouts EddieJones Pro Tools | S6 8 05-22-2016 05:22 PM
Layouts Reckless Erik Artist Series 6 09-17-2013 07:21 AM
using Layouts from project on another? fork-media Artist Series 2 07-13-2012 04:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com