Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-29-2002, 09:25 PM

Default Next thing to buy?

Hi, i would like to introduce my self. I'm 19 years old and got the 001 back in may. I am a poor college student barly making the bills. so anything over $50 is alot [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] Since i'm getting more addictive to recording, whats should be the next big purschased.

Right now i have

2 shure 57
1 shure 58
3 RadioShack Drum Mics (for the money they rock)
2 crappy mics

I'm thinking about saving my money for a multi channel pre-amp, not a mixer. I don't under stand the idea of spending $800 on Protools with a built in mixer then spend more money on an external mixer.

So what should i buy next? DigiMax? what is recommended. What about a good pair of Moniters? I saw a pair of Roland MA-8s at Mars Music for like $80. not bad.

Chris
Old 07-29-2002, 09:33 PM

Default Re: Next thing to buy?

hello and welcome,

what type of music do you plan on recording?
this could help in narrowing things down, particularily your need (or not) for a preamp at this time. whatever it may be, I would steer you in the way of monitors. If you can't hear it right, your not gonna mix it right, thus playing your bounced masterpiece on your friend's hi-fi and acknowledging that 'something's not right'.

I say go with monitors first.
Old 07-29-2002, 09:48 PM

thanks for the info.

I play rock n' roll!

I was thinking Pre-Amps because i have the drum set miced with 5 microphones all at line level inputs, doesn't sound all that bad either. but i figure i could get it a better tone.

I only record 1 guitar at a time, and use 2 of my 57s.