Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2016, 09:29 AM
BenzoSt2 BenzoSt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ipswich MA
Posts: 8
Default no sound coming from Fast Track Pro

I have installed Pro Tools M-Powered and the software for my Fast Track Pro. My Fast Track Pro is powered on, but when I open a Pro Tools Session with my headphones plugged into the Fast Track Pro, I hear nothing when I play the session. Can anyone help me? It's been a few years since I last installed Pro Tools and composed music.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2016, 09:51 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: no sound coming from Fast Track Pro

Have you set the IO appropriately, is PT outputting to the output that your headphones are connected to? http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...t-I-O-settings

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2016, 11:29 AM
BenzoSt2 BenzoSt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ipswich MA
Posts: 8
Default Re: no sound coming from Fast Track Pro

That didn't seem to work, but I can't be sure because the windows I see in the link don't look exactly like the windows in my software.

I'm going to update my system specs. I could try re-installing.

Does anyone know what specifically I should do to make Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.3 to function with a Fast Track Pro and/or M-Audio Oxygen 25? I had this setup working about 2 years ago, but it's been a while since I've been actively composing music.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2016, 04:01 PM
BenzoSt2 BenzoSt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ipswich MA
Posts: 8
Default Re: no sound coming from Fast Track Pro

Here is my situation:
1. I have installed Pro Tools M-Powered 8.03 on my Windows 7 PC and also connected an M-Audio Fast Track Pro to my computer. I have headphones connected to my Fast Track Pro and the power is on. If I don't have my Fast Track Pro connected and powered on, I am prohibited from launching Pro Tools. When I turn the Fast Track Pro on or off, I hear the distinctive click sound in my headphones.
2. I can load an old Pro Tools project and play it. As you can see in the attached screenshot, the tracks appear to be producing sound during playback as indicated by the fluctuating green and yellow bars, but the sound isn't being output through my headphones.
3. As suggested, I downloaded Sandra and here is my system info:


SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : BenzoSt-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : OEM
Serial Number : To Be Fille***********
Chassis : Desktop
Mainboard : ASRock Z75 Pro3
Serial Number : E80-480********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) P2.00 10/01/2013
Intel vPro : 8.01.00.1248
Total Memory : 15.9GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz (4C 3.4GHz/3.7GHz, 3.4GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 6MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1155

Chipset
Memory Controller : ASRock Core (Sandy Bridge) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 8GB DIMM DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : ACR Acer X223W
(1680x1050, 22.0")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (7CU 1344SP SM5.0 979MHz/1.24GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (1344SP 7C 979MHz/1.24GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (1344SP 7C 979MHz/1.24GHz, 112kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (1344SP 7C 979MHz/1.24GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)
OpenGL Processor : GeForce GTX 660 Ti/PCIe/SSE2 (2GB)

Storage Devices
Intel PNY CS1211 240GB SSD 754D117-820 (240GB, SATA600, SSD) : 224GB (C:)
EPSON Stylus Storage (USB2) : N/A (E:)
ATAPI iHAS124 B (47MB, SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : 45MB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Intel PNY CS1211 240GB SSD 754D117-820 (240GB, SATA600, SSD)
Hard Disk (C:) : 223GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Intel PNY CS1211 240GB SSD 754D117-820 (240GB, SATA600, SSD)
Removable Drive (E:) : N/A @ EPSON Stylus Storage (USB2)
Oxygen Series (D:) : 45MB (CDFS, 2kB, Read-Only) @ ATAPI iHAS124 B (47MB, SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASRock Panther Point LPC Controller
Audio Device : ASRock Panther Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Device : EVGA GK104 HDMI Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia GeForce 6800 Ultra [NV40.0]
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ASRock Panther Point 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASRock Panther Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : ASRock Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : ASRock Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller 4 : VIA VL805 USB 3.0 Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send to Microsoft OneNote 16 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : EPSON Stylus CX8400 Series (360x360, USB, Colour)

Scanners and Cameras
Scanner : EPSON CX8300/CX8400/DX8400 (Scanner, 1200x1200, USB)

Peripherals

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 1Gbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Personal 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pro_tools1.jpg (83.9 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Benzo Stanbury

Last edited by BenzoSt2; 07-21-2016 at 04:07 PM. Reason: improved description of situation
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2016, 04:37 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,103
Default Re: no sound coming from Fast Track Pro

I'll suggest the most basic troubleshooting.

Where is the Mix knob set? For listening to Pro Tools output make sure it is set all the way to "PB" (playback) and the headphone volume is turned up. If that is not it...

Power off the interface
reboot the computer.
Once is is fully restarted power on the interface
Start Pro Tools.

What happens? If that fixes it, ... ...you need to check that the computer is properly setup/optimized to not sleep/suspend and you must never manually do so while the interface is connected or the driver is likely to hang, that is just the standard expected crappy behavior of Avid drivers.

Try removing all other USB peripherals you can from the computer and reboot and try the interface on several different USB2 (not USB 3) ports on your computer.

If that does not work, try trashing prefs and databases and repeat the above (instructions for trashing prefs etc. are under the "help us help you" link up top of this web page).

Also confirm the headphones still work by connecting them to something else.

Make sure the headphone volume is turned up on the interface.

And confirm the headphone output stage in the interface and headphones are working by connecting a microphone to the interface and using the interface's hardware monitoring (mix knob set all the way to "IN" for input) to listen to the mic input (completely independent of Pro Tools). If that works set the monitor know all the way back to "PB". If that does not work you likely have a hardware problem in the interface.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 07-21-2016 at 05:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2016, 04:58 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,103
Default Re: no sound coming from Fast Track Pro

And thanks for posting a Sandra report. It's actually unlikely to help with this type of problem, but always just a good idea to check. The only general things I can see is there is not a dedicated audio/session drive showing here. A good idea to do that with MPowered even if not formally recommended (I can't recall if Avid does or not). And it's also a good idea to get used to removing optical media from CD/DVD drives while running Pro Tools, neither of those things will be causing this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2016, 05:53 PM
BenzoSt2 BenzoSt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ipswich MA
Posts: 8
Default Re: no sound coming from Fast Track Pro

FIXED! It seems the issue was that I was using a USB 3.0 port.

I love you.
__________________
Benzo Stanbury
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2016, 05:58 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,103
Default Re: no sound coming from Fast Track Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenzoSt2 View Post
I love you.
Uh?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-21-2016, 06:32 PM
BenzoSt2 BenzoSt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ipswich MA
Posts: 8
Default Re: no sound coming from Fast Track Pro

Just very happy to finally get this fixed, since I've been metaphorically pulling my hair out for several hours.
__________________
Benzo Stanbury
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Track Duo - Sound on Pro Tools, no sound elsewhere arodt FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 04-20-2016 08:49 PM
No sound with Fast Track Pro mcm15 Pro Tools 11 8 12-27-2015 06:18 AM
Sound is playing too fast with M-Audio Fast Track Pro wodkin FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 0 02-06-2015 09:42 AM
No output sound coming form my Fast-Track C600 niepceus FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 12 04-23-2014 03:33 PM
Fast track Pro is not even coming up in the sound settings Ryan007 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 02-17-2014 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com