Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2015, 10:44 AM
c-arts c-arts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vienna/Austria - Europe
Posts: 46
Default Kind of Bounce problem PT11 HD Native

Hi there,

i have PT 11 on a Thunderbolt HD Native card.

I often have many files to bounce from one session. (100+)

When I begin to bounce to disk with the offline function everything goes fine; the speed is with some plugins at 40x.

But after about 20 files PT starts to struggle:
I press "OK" for bouncing and then the colourful ball icon comes and the system sleeps for a moment.
It's not crashing. Then after a while it starts bouncing - at 40x again.
After the bounce process the same: the colourful ball appears until I can do the next step.

Only a restart of PT helps - then after about 20 files the same begins.


Does anyone else encounter with this problem?

I'm working on an IMac 4 GHz Intel Core i7 with 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Thanks
Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2015, 02:36 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default

Grasping at straws here...do you have SLEEP enabled? Disabling that is one of the required system tweaks Does it do a real-time bounce okay? Does the iMac have a Fusion drive?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2015, 05:44 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,066
Default

I've had success using Cocktail "Purge inactive memory...." to speed things up without a Pro Tools restart.
For me it's when rendering many elastic audio tracks.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2015, 02:03 AM
c-arts c-arts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vienna/Austria - Europe
Posts: 46
Default

Hi there, thanks for you answers:

@albee1952: Sleep Mode is disabled! Yes, the iMac has a fusion drive!

@Darryl: I'll try that the next time!

@Detroit I'll try that too, thanks for the tip!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2015, 10:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
The fusion drives are suspect in causing stability problems even if not used for audio/session storage. You should have never purchased a Mac with a fusion drive for use with Pro Tools, or you should have reconfigured the fusion drive into two separate drives (but be careful of not getting a fusion drive that uses a 4,800 rpm drive). This has been discussed a lot on DUC, and instructions on how to do that are easily findable online.
100% correct.

Fusion drive is not for Pro Tools.

Period.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2015, 03:51 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-arts View Post
But after about 20 files PT starts to struggle:
I press "OK" for bouncing and then the colourful ball icon comes and the system sleeps for a moment.
It's not crashing. Then after a while it starts bouncing - at 40x again.
After the bounce process the same: the colourful ball appears until I can do the next step.
I've seen this ever since offline bounce was introduced which made me give up on it.
In complex film sessions I usually have to wait for 5-10 minutes for the beachball to settle and before PT actually starts to bounce. A reel then takes about another 8-10 minutes depending on complexity and then another 5 minutes of beachball after the bounce.

In total that's actually way longer than a traditional realtime bounce.

Might be faster with small sessions but I never use offline bounce mainly because of this. (The QC aspect not even considered).

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2015, 06:41 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default

Granted i am on PC, but off-line bounce works great here. In months, i have only had a single session that refused to BTD off-line, but it would offer me a button to run a real-time bounce, which worked every time. Did the OP ever answer regarding real-time bounce working?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buffer latency compensation problem, Mackie Onyx 1640i, PT11 native Wirtanen Pro Tools 11 29 06-16-2015 10:27 AM
Can I use AAX DSP plugins with PT11 HD Native? BigDropz AAX Plug-ins 4 03-13-2014 11:14 PM
PT11 to PT11 HD Native upgrade without hardware? kirkbross Pro Tools 11 2 11-04-2013 03:10 PM
New Mac for HD Native & PT11- help!! sms1305 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-10-2013 12:40 PM
I have kind of a stupid problem J0hn_Obrien444 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-27-2008 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com