Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 05-24-2016, 07:11 AM
fizpop fizpop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 5
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watagushu2013 View Post
Thanks for the post.

I have an old black magic extreme HD and it has been working fine only with 9.5.2. I use it now in protools 12.5 and the only thing that occurs is that if I try to monitor any 1080@23.98 or 24fps video in any codec, it outputs a cropped 2048/1080 video on the tv. I don't know if this is caused by an sdi to hdmi adapter that I use to view on the tv or my tv itself.But the only way to fix it is to change the output of the video track in protools to 1080i 29.97 or 59.94 using the command key (Mac) and pressing the output tab.

That's my story.
I will test it with an Aja kona sometime soon
I will publish my findings
Let me know how the Kona Test goes, I have a BM card as well as a Kona but dont really have the time to test both properly. Stuck on PT 10 with the BM card at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-24-2016, 07:44 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goombot View Post
If you have to switch video frame rates in order to make things work then things are really wrong. I would immediately start using something else if that's the work around. Black magic really needs to get their s**t together.
Not necessarily.

Take a look at my Pro Tools Expert article comparing different video playback software to the AVE, using Blackmagic hardware.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-24-2016, 09:00 AM
Goombot Goombot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 132
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

send link...
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-24-2016, 09:19 AM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 153
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Hi
I just installed an aja kona 3 in my protools 12.5 rig.
I am using 10.8.5 but I could install the latest driver for this card (10.6.1) that supports Mavericks and Yosemite, although works fine in mountain lion.
I think the driver is better written because I can now watch 1080p24 on my tv and my Blackburst reference video is showing in the Aja's control panel, with blackmagic drivers you could not see if the reference was getting in to the card.
Just my findings.

Cheers


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-24-2016, 09:29 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goombot View Post
send link...
http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home-page/2016/3/10/is

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-01-2016, 08:05 AM
SL1 SL1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Can I use a BM Decklink with PT 12 Vanilla or does it have to be HD, ideally would like to use the HDMI out, but will settle for the Analogue if thats all it can do? thanks!
__________________
Mac Pro 32Gb RAM
10.10.4
1x HDX with HD i/o
Pro Tools HD 12.2.1
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06-01-2016, 08:32 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,845
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
Didn't this guy just do a blog about AVE saying it performed well?

http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...rt.html?rq=ave
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 06-01-2016, 09:58 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
Didn't this guy just do a blog about AVE saying it performed well?

http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...rt.html?rq=ave
As I remember, he found the AJA to be good but not BM.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-03-2016, 11:40 AM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 393
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Repeating myself regarding the topic of this thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel Risberg View Post
I think it would make sense to rename the title of this thread to "Blackmagic Desktop Video Software", without any version numbers in it.

Desktop Video just got a minor generation update: 10.7.x. I'm going to give those drivers a chance, although all of the 10.5.x and 10.6.x drivers performed bad with my Intensity Pro. I don't like falling behind with software updates, so I'm hoping for the best.

Copy and paste from their site:

Quote:
What's new in Desktop Video 10.7
New features on Artist DNxIO:
  • Add support for more DNxHR profiles on capture with Artist DNxIO
  • Add support for audio punch-in

Fixes on UltraStudio 4K Extreme & Artist DNxIO:
  • Fix intermittent PCIe detection issue on some PCs
  • Output conversions are now applied to analog connections too
  • Fix incorrect genlock offset in some modes
Fixes on all models:
  • Fix issue when recording to tape using DaVinci Resolve
  • Improved Avid support
  • General performance and stability improvements
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-08-2016, 04:34 PM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 914
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel Risberg View Post
Repeating myself regarding the topic of this thread:



Desktop Video just got a minor generation update: 10.7.x. I'm going to give those drivers a chance, although all of the 10.5.x and 10.6.x drivers performed bad with my Intensity Pro. I don't like falling behind with software updates, so I'm hoping for the best.

Copy and paste from their site:
So how did it go?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No video out to Blackmagic intensity pro redsixmix Pro Tools 11 3 01-16-2014 11:02 AM
BlackMagic Decklink Issues - extended Desktop? The Chinese Post - Surround - Video 4 07-29-2011 04:02 AM
new Blackmagic video products reichman Post - Surround - Video 1 04-20-2009 03:18 PM
Pro Tools with BlackMagic video cards tom_lowe Post - Surround - Video 1 08-12-2007 11:02 AM
Does anybody use Blackmagic Video Card ? Ale Post - Surround - Video 1 05-12-2005 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com