Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-21-2002, 09:54 PM

Default I am new to the protools world, thinking of purchasing an 001 system

I am thinking of buying a new computer and getting
started with the recording of my own band.

I need at least 8 tracks simultaneous recording, at least 16 tracks total, good sound quality, ease of use, editing such as cutting off begins and outros, making a section longer or shorter.

Lastly a system that will provide me with excellant mixing capabilities.

I have some computer knowledge, so I think the protools 001 system seems to fit into what I am looking for.

Am I correct?
What all will I need to make high quality recordings?
What kind of computer and computer requirements do I need? I am thinking of getting a new dell.
And I plan on getting some good monitors, but what else do I need?

I am on a budget so I am trying to keep this simple, but get really good results.

I will be using really good microphones like akg, at, maybe some neumanns, studio projects.
I have 2 FMR RNC compressors, and I want to get a sytek preamp which has 4 channels.

do I need anything else?

What kind of plug ins does the digi 001 have?
Old 11-21-2002, 10:25 PM

Default Re: I am new to the protools world, thinking of purchasing an 001 system

click here to start

this computer by far is the way to go. not just for the money, but this thing is out performing every thing...I would start right there.