Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Old 03-19-2017, 06:41 PM

Default Thinking about purchasing

Hey everyone,

I am a student and thinking about purchasing the student version of Pro Tools but I'm worried about a couple of things...

1. Is there anything else I need (or really should) buy in order to use Pro Tools? Or can I successfully use it without anything else? I did plan on picking up a small midi keyboard. Price is a big concern for me so I would like to know sooner rather than later.

2. I keep reading things about audio interfaces? Do I need one? I have a new and powerful laptop (built for high end gaming) but the focus is on video, not at all on audio.

Thanks in advance for any help you could provide me with.
Old 03-19-2017, 08:13 PM

Default Re: Thinking about purchasing

What do you NEED?
The software(you knew that)
an iLok 2(or 3) $40-50
an iLok account(free but pay attention to creating account name and password so you don't lose this info)

Now it gets a little more interesting. You NEED a working "audio engine"(IOW, a way to get audio out of Pro Tools, for playback. And a way to get audio into Pro Tools, if you wish to record anything. On a Mac, Core Audio can do the job. On Windows, an ASIO driver and a basic sound card can do the job. BUT, I don't recommend this, and here's why. If you just want to fuss with making beats or having fun, then I would skip Pro Tools and look at Garage Band, Abelton Live and the like. However, if you want to learn what is the "industry standard", you really need to step up your game a bit. The first step in that(IMHO) is to use a real "interface" that allows for recording and playback, but is separate from the onboard sound card that allows you to listen to youtube, iTunes and such.