Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2010, 07:52 PM
BigHE BigHE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Default Main Window missing!!! Please help!

I just loaded PT 7.4 on Mac G5 Tiger 10.4.11 (PT 8.0 won't work with my OS). I am new to Macs. I have been using PT 8.0 on my PC for a while now, so I am familiar with most of the basics. Everything seems to have loaded correctly. When I click the PT icon, I see PT start up and the plugins and what not load just fine. When it finishes the load screen disappears and thats it. No main screen??? When I click on the icon again, it shows that its running but there is no screen. This is a clean install of the operation system. Am I missing something? Everything else (Itunes, Quicktime, ect) works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:37 PM
Musicianista Musicianista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 95
Default Re: Main Window missing!!! Please help!

Your prefs are probably set to "Do Nothing" when Pro Tools opens.

You have to have a project open for there to be any edit or mix pages.

Start by adding tracks in the PT track menu. Once you have at least one track, you will have a Mix page and an Edit page.
__________________
- Ando
003 / ADA8000
iMac 24 2.33ghz / 3gb Ram
OS X 10.6.2
Pro Tools LE 8.01CS1
DVTK2
LOGIC 9.1.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:48 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Main Window missing!!! Please help!

command = (I think, I'm a PC and it's cntrl =) will open the edit window. Sometimes even adding tracks won't open a edit window. or the Window pull down menu, click edit or mix to open a window.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Main Window missing!!! Please help!

Look at the top for the Pro Tools menu bar. Open a session and all will appear. Its just the way it works on a Mac(and its different than a PC).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:58 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Main Window missing!!! Please help!

oh. In pc that can happen, the edit/ mix windows don't open on their own. Good to know.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2010, 05:34 AM
BigHE BigHE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: Main Window missing!!! Please help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Look at the top for the Pro Tools menu bar. Open a session and all will appear. Its just the way it works on a Mac(and its different than a PC).

That's it right there. Thanks. I just updated to the lastest Leopard and installed PT 8.0 and now it acts just as my PC did on start up. All is good thanks to everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
main menu bar missing. pls help. dbazan Pro Tools 9 6 11-28-2010 01:18 PM
11 rack window missing sricabla Eleven Rack 1 11-18-2010 12:15 PM
Foldback sends mirror Mix window main faders? turnyouritch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-03-2010 11:13 AM
12dB missing on main bus TDM Mix+ w/ PT 6.4.1 rantanplan Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 12-22-2009 11:00 AM
EEK! Missing Edit Window Jeffrey Talbot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-26-2004 10:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com