Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2020, 04:45 AM
zakkwylde13 zakkwylde13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 31
Default No way to organize plugins?

Hi Guys

Man, I would love to be able to organize my plugins. I have sooo many, and I need them all but 90% of the time I am using the same 10. Have any of you found a way to organize plugins better?

Is there any way to make a folder somewhere on the Mac that pro tools can read?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2020, 05:04 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,927
Default Re: No way to organize plugins?

You can add them to your favourites list and they will appear at the top of the plug in list.

You’re on a Mac, so if you Command click the plugin in the list, it should be added as a favourite.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2020, 06:27 AM
zakkwylde13 zakkwylde13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: No way to organize plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
You can add them to your favourites list and they will appear at the top of the plug in list.

You’re on a Mac, so if you Command click the plugin in the list, it should be added as a favourite.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks Sardi! I didn't know this! This helps a lot :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2020, 02:02 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,521
Default Re: No way to organize plugins?

For Windows users, its Ctrl-click. You should also start using Track Presets. That can add ALL your desired plugins to a track with a single command But wait! There's MORE The recently added search feature can save lots of scrolling
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2020, 08:47 AM
zakkwylde13 zakkwylde13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: No way to organize plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
For Windows users, its Ctrl-click. You should also start using Track Presets. That can add ALL your desired plugins to a track with a single command But wait! There's MORE The recently added search feature can save lots of scrolling
Yeah, I use all of that, but actually didn't know of the favourite plugins thing. Very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2020, 03:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,521
Default Re: No way to organize plugins?

Once you get into habits(like the rest of us), you may also find that there are a lot of plugins that you don't really care about. If you drag those out of the Plugins folder(I would move them to a new folder on the desktop) and they will not take up space on the lists(and PT loading may speed up a bit if you removed a lot). Any time you decide you need one of those, just drag it back into the Plugins folder before opening PT
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2020, 10:12 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 500
Default Re: No way to organize plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Once you get into habits(like the rest of us), you may also find that there are a lot of plugins that you don't really care about. If you drag those out of the Plugins folder(I would move them to a new folder on the desktop) and they will not take up space on the lists(and PT loading may speed up a bit if you removed a lot). Any time you decide you need one of those, just drag it back into the Plugins folder before opening PT
I do this like twice a year at least. If I can't remember the last time I loaded it it goes in the bin.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAX Plugins Organize Neurosis Pro Tools 12 5 12-24-2016 09:55 PM
Organize Plugins BaileyBass Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-02-2010 09:08 PM
Is It Possible To Organize Plugins? birdyyellow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-20-2007 10:45 AM
Organize plugins donpeppoe Tips & Tricks 1 05-09-2005 03:47 PM
Organize PT and Waves Plugins GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-08-2005 01:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com