Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-05-2003, 07:30 AM

Default Adobe Premier?

I am a Pro Tools LE user looking to get into a little video editing... e.g. merge songs I've recorded with video footage from shows to create music videos etc.

Should I go with Adobe Premier (I hear the name alot as the industry standard) or is there a Digidesign product that integrates better with Pro Tools LE?

I've seen Windows Media Maker also but I hear it's very low-end.

Thanks for any advice.
Ron
Old 01-05-2003, 08:57 AM

Default Re: Adobe Premier?

Hi Ron,
I'm about to get into video myself, and I've been told that Avid Express is preferred over Premier for use with PT.(Bastiaan's advice, and he does it for a living) So, that's what I plan to use. Keep me posted how it goes with you. ~Roy
Old 01-05-2003, 09:04 AM

The interface and everything else with dvexpress is more streamlined. It looks less cluttered on your desktop. The pricedifference is big though...

premiere is around $650 or so
dvexpress is around $1700

It is very possible to excange audio and video between premiere and protools. If you want more info on how to do this...just let me know. I think tehre are other applications for video too...have a close look at them, and try to figure out what you really want (stuff like only put clips behind each other, or use effects, transitions, titles, colorcorrection etc...)

Premiere works together with photoshop and aftereffects quite well....(same company)

Bastiaan
Old 01-05-2003, 09:08 AM