Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2018, 12:06 AM
grengama grengama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2
Default Multiple-computer setup and license/cost impact

Hi all -- I'm seriously considering a switch to Pro Tools, but have a question on pricing and licensing for my multiple computer setup.

I do most of my engineering/mixing/production on my iMac, but due to the way my recording environment is set up (different rooms), I need to record most of my tracks on my Dell laptop.

Do I need to buy two licenses so that I can install Pro Tools on my mac and pc? Or does the license agreement allow me to install on both for the same price?

Many thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2018, 09:29 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,809
Default Re: Multiple-computer setup and license/cost impact

The software can be installed on any number of machines. Its the iLok(with license) that is needed to actually run the software. You can carry the iLok around with you as you move from one system to the next. Otherwise, you would need a license and iLok for each machine if you need them to run at the same time.

Some random thoughts:
The iLok can move from Mac to PC and back without issue
You can have multiple iLoks registered to the same account
You can connect multiple iLoks from different accounts, to 1 computer
Working with a laptop-I highly recommend using a "dongle buddy"(short USB cable) to avoid the risk of bumping and breaking an iLok that sticks out(laptops often get moved around)
Moving an iLok constantly puts it at a higher risk for failure/damage so buy the ZDT coverage and keep a spare iLok around(sometimes you can get a free iLok with certain plugin purchases).
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2018, 10:16 PM
grengama grengama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2
Default Re: Multiple-computer setup and license/cost impact

Thank you so much, just what I needed to know!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple iLoks, Single PT License DelawareAve95 Getting Started 5 04-12-2014 03:00 PM
Ilok shows license for Avid Impact, but PT10 won't recognize authorization yardbird AAX Plug-ins 1 07-09-2013 10:54 AM
Upgrade cost to PTIEP from multiple VI's Kris75 Virtual Instruments 4 03-24-2010 12:55 PM
Cost Effective Computer System RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-27-2009 01:28 PM
002 on Multiple Machines, User License? Spyder Byte Studios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-30-2004 06:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com