Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-04-2017, 11:05 PM
thesoundguy77 thesoundguy77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles, cA
Posts: 9
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

CEDAR DNS ONE - also shows same behavior now - bands are swapped horizontally. So its not just confined to waves plugins.

I updated both eucon to 3.7 and also had to update Cedar to 7.1 ilok version at the same time, so not sure which did it.

But somehow it seems unlikely that CEDAR changed their mapping since it was working fine before and their update was only supposed to affect the licensing mechanism, so I assume it was the eucon update that changed this for the worse.

However, the waves plugin maps have been backwards (or in some cases just broken) for quite a while even with previous versions of eucon, but the Cedar issue is brand new.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-04-2017, 11:15 PM
thesoundguy77 thesoundguy77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles, cA
Posts: 9
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

Also I noticed when waves released their update a few months back (9.91 i think) that was advertised to finally "fix plugin control maps for S3 and S6" — i actually found that for some of their plugins — this update actually broke the maps on the S3 and artist series even worse then they were before.

seems like they were just focused on fixing the s6 and didn't actually check what they were doing was actually positive on the lesser eucon surfaces

For example – waves VITAMIN - harmonic enhancer with 5 separate bands from low to high — pretty straightforward interface to map with not many parameters, similar layout to WNS. On previous versions — I had access to all the parameters for this on the S3 and artist series (and ipad app) — they were just mirrored horizontally so a little counter intuitive. but they were all there and laid out in a single row, just backwards

Then I installed their update hoping it would fix the mirroring — and all that happened is the bands got weirdly spread out in seemingly random order, not mirrored anymore but in a way that made even less sense.

but its been this way for several months and several versions of eucon I believe.

I assumed it was just impossible for the third party plugins to optimize the maps both for the S6 and the lesser eucon surfaces, so obviously they have to pick making the big guys happy.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-05-2017, 11:43 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

The maps are the same for S3 and S6, so yes they fixed them for S6.....but S6 is the right way and its S3 thats backwards. The pref to reverse these will be in the next EuControl release so you can decide which way to display them (until all plugins are round the right way) I'm sorry for this inconvenience but once sorted they (and all new plugins) should be good going forward. As part of this, I will reverse the DYN knobs as they seem to be backwards too. (EQ is right)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-06-2017, 09:10 AM
hugoleitao hugoleitao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 29
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

Quote:
Originally Posted by domilik View Post
Hopefully this can be fixed soon, intuitive controlling of (especially) "frequency-based" plugin-GUIs is nearly impossible this way.
It used to be so great having the WNS on the S3 faders before...


(PS: Hey Hugo, so nice to see you in "my" thread, remember our japanese-diver-mix in Berlin? :) )
Hi Dominik

Sure I remember, that film keeps going around the world
I hope you're doing good
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-22-2018, 11:56 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 101
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

Bump...this seems back in waves v10 in the control app and on the S3. Anyone else confirm/deny/solve?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-24-2018, 09:33 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

Have you tried the new pref in EuControl that flips the knobs ?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-24-2018, 10:30 AM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 101
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

Ha! No but you can be sure I'll check that out. Thank you for the guidance, Eddie -

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-25-2018, 11:39 AM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 101
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Have you tried the new pref in EuControl that flips the knobs ?
Anything like this for the Dock as well? The preference that I see does show the S3 and Artist Mix, and is very helpful for my S3.

I use the Dock at home for prep and premix, and the S3 in studio. I recognize this is something that changed as the Waves version changed, and just wonder if the issue is addressable through Eucon or some other means -- or if customizing mapping is in a future release.

I'm checking in with Waves as well of course.

Thank you!

G.
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-26-2018, 12:22 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 101
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

If anyone is experiencing -- or NOT experiencing -- a reversal of Waves plugin mapping on the Dock's encoders and the Control App, after the update to Waves v10, I would certainly appreciate hearing about it to determine if this is an issue only I am dealing with.

In the meantime, here is Waves' reply, not unexpected:

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Thank you for contacting Waves Tech Support.

With our V10 update of the Waves plugins, we have not performed any changes of that regards If you wish, you are welcome to Rollback to Waves V9.92 and test.

Before doing so, I suggest to go and experiment with your controller settings to see if that might be related to the behavior you experience.

Please note that our ability to assist with non Waves products is minimal.

Let me know how it goes.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Best Regards,

WavesAudioLTD Daniel Kamhaji
Technical Support
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-08-2018, 08:29 AM
hugoleitao hugoleitao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 29
Default Re: waves insert mapping got mirrored

Here's a brief update from waves latest version

November 4th, 2018
- Improved: Overall GUI responsiveness of all plugins.
- Added: "Netflix 2018" preset to WLM and WLM Plus.
- Added: F6 global control mapping to Avid S3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WAVES V9.91 now has control mapping for S3 & S6 mattrixx Pro Tools | S3 8 04-21-2017 06:08 PM
Waves ICON mapping colinweeks ICON & C|24 7 04-16-2007 10:55 AM
WAVES plugs not mapping Don Geppert ICON & C|24 5 01-29-2006 03:38 PM
Mapping Mapping Mapping! Please Digi, Hear Us... relaxo MIDI 0 11-03-2005 10:44 AM
Waves L2 Only in Audiosuite - Not Insert Plugin?! yarrick19 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-05-2005 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com