Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2011, 12:56 AM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 493
Default AI oddness

Made a session yesterday with about 10 kontakt tracks.
Among them 1 track with Abbey Road late 60s vintage drums and one with a wurlitzer.
Opened the session up this morning, and the midi region of the wurlitzer was greyed out. Only solution was to recreate a new kontakt track and copy the midi region.

The other thing that was odd was that the drum track (which was only a programmed kick and snare) now played all kinds of cymbals and stuff, that wasn't in the midi region. It was pretty consistent though - same odd cymbals every time. Really wierd.

Tried to reload the kontakt preset on the sick track - same thing. Reboot PT. Same thing. Only solution again was to copy the midi region to a fresh AI track and open up kontakt with the 60s preset.

Odd.
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk

Mac Pro 2x3.06ghz 12core. OWC SSD, 40gb ram,HDX2, UAD2, 2 x 16x16 HDi/o, 192D, D-command. OSX 10.11.6, PTHD 12.6.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2011, 01:58 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,481
Default Re: AI oddness

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boe Larsen View Post
Made a session yesterday with about 10 kontakt tracks.
Among them 1 track with Abbey Road late 60s vintage drums and one with a wurlitzer.
Opened the session up this morning, and the midi region of the wurlitzer was greyed out. Only solution was to recreate a new kontakt track and copy the midi region.

The other thing that was odd was that the drum track (which was only a programmed kick and snare) now played all kinds of cymbals and stuff, that wasn't in the midi region. It was pretty consistent though - same odd cymbals every time. Really wierd.

Tried to reload the kontakt preset on the sick track - same thing. Reboot PT. Same thing. Only solution again was to copy the midi region to a fresh AI track and open up kontakt with the 60s preset.

Odd.
Hi Boe,

I see this occasionally and its usually a simple case of re assigning/re-routing the midi track back to the appropriate midi instrument. you need to have the instrument panel showing in the track list then just route the midi back to the instrument.

This is probably the same issue with the odd cymbals playing! as the routing is going to the wrong instrument or wrong midi channel within the instrument.

something in the routing settings isn't being saved and recalled correctly and i've seen this for a few years now.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2011, 02:42 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 493
Default Re: AI oddness

Hey Chris.
Ah, ok - think we have touched this one before. Same thing - ok. The thing was - I didn't have drums on any other tracks - nor did I have any other midi channels going in kontakt...
Thanks for you reply!
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk

Mac Pro 2x3.06ghz 12core. OWC SSD, 40gb ram,HDX2, UAD2, 2 x 16x16 HDi/o, 192D, D-command. OSX 10.11.6, PTHD 12.6.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2011, 03:20 AM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 966
Default Re: AI oddness

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boe Larsen View Post
Hey Chris.
Ah, ok - think we have touched this one before. Same thing - ok. The thing was - I didn't have drums on any other tracks - nor did I have any other midi channels going in kontakt...
Thanks for you reply!
I can confirm this. It happens "once a while".
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2011, 09:20 AM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: AI oddness

yep here as well.. opening a session and one of the midi tracks is not playing - once or twice a week here... didnt get that re-routing chris - could you say step by step what to do?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
192 serious oddness duskb Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-21-2011 10:47 PM
Beat Detective oddness Delso Tips & Tricks 1 05-28-2009 07:38 AM
Bounce oddness & a question ondruspat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-12-2007 11:35 AM
Input Monitor Oddness? Iain Graham Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-25-2005 09:50 AM
DigiTrans Oddness Roger Stauss Post - Surround - Video 2 02-12-2002 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com