Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-25-2005, 11:30 AM

Default Help a newbie?

Hello All,

I am somewhat new to PT (and this forum!), and I have question. One one of my songs, there is a snare hit that is just a little late. It is probably not that big of a deal, but it happens to be at a very exposed part in the song.

In the past I have succesfully taken care of such things by identifying the beat, cutting it, and pasting it to the desired location, which works on most occasions. The problem with this particular hit is that it is accompanied by a cymbal crash, and its resonance makes for a difficult cut.

I have actually come close to fixing this, in the aforementioned manner, but what I end up with is some blank space between the end of the hit and the beginning of the next region (or beat). (Hope I am making sense...). This does not sound good.

I tried filling this space with silence, which worked okay, but I would like to ask you all if there is a better way. Is there a way to stretch a region? Or would a fade work better? I actually tried the fade, and it seemed to almost fix the problem, but I get an audible click when the new region begins. Maybe I am not doing it right, as I have not used fades that much...

Could anyone offer some detailed suggestions? I really appreciate!!!
Thanks,
Rip
Old 01-25-2005, 01:06 PM

Default Re: Help a newbie?

Quote:
Hello All,

I am somewhat new to PT (and this forum!), and I have question. One one of my songs, there is a snare hit that is just a little late. It is probably not that big of a deal, but it happens to be at a very exposed part in the song.