Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2019, 04:07 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 569
Default HDX4, is it possible?

I was reading the manual of the AVID HD I/O today and I noticed this info:

Maximum I/O Configurations

Pro Tools HD with HDX cards supports up to a maximum combination of 16 total of the following audio interfaces:

• HD OMNI (only one HD OMNI is supported in a single system)
• HD I/O (up to 16 HD I/O can be used simultaneously—requires 4 HDX cards)
• HD MADI (up to 4 HD MADI can be used simultaneously—requires 4 HDX cards)


And in the AVID HDX Card Installation Guide I noticed the same info:

In an expanded system, you should connect audio interfaces only to the first 4 HDX cards in your system.

Pro Tools HD with HDX cards supports up to a maximum combination of 16 total of the following audio interfaces:

• HD OMNI (only one HD OMNI is supported in a single system)
• HD I/O (up to 16 HD I/O can be used simultaneously—requires 4 HDX cards)
• HD MADI (up to 4 HD MADI can be used simultaneously—requires 4 HDX cards)

But on the AVID website is stated:

Work with up to 256 audio tracks with a single card system or up to 768 audio tracks with three cards. Mix up to 192 ins and outs.

192 ins and outs = 12 interfaces (12 interfaces with 4 interfaces per HDX card = HDX3)

Is anyone runnig 4 HDX cards?

Is it possible?

Did anyone try this?

I have an expansion chassis with HDX3 and some free PCIe slots left so I’m wondering if it would be possible to make it a HDX4 system...
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

System 1: Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.13.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate 2018.12 - HD I/O 16x16 - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x3)

System 2: Mac Pro (Mid 2010) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.9.5 - Magma PE6R4-I - PT HD 6 Accel PCI - PT HD 10.3.10 - 192D I/O - SYNC I/O

Last edited by Delta Music Belgium; 01-26-2019 at 02:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2019, 12:21 AM
pm mastering studio pm mastering studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lebbeke , Belgium
Posts: 104
Default Re: HDX4, is it possible?

Hi there,

If I'm not mistaken the max amount of cards is HDX3.

with kind regards
__________________
Philippe Meiresonne
(Belgium)

http://www.pm-mastering-studio.com
SYSTEM HDX MAC
ProTools HD 2018.1 | 1HDX Card | MacPro 6 Core 32GB Ram PCIe 512GB TrashCan|Magma Thunderbold EB3T|2x PRE | 96 | 192 I/O | HD I/0 16/16
Midi I/O | D-Command ES +16 fader Pack | Xmon

SYSTEM 02
Mac OS 10.10.x |MacBook Pro | 16GB RAM |Mbox 2 Pro Factory | Rack003+ Factory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2019, 09:12 AM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 569
Default Re: HDX4, is it possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pm mastering studio View Post
If I'm not mistaken the max amount of cards is HDX3.
That is what I (and everybody else) always thought and that is what is stated on the AVID website.

But the point is that according to the quotes from the 2 manuals in my first post it appears to be that 4 cards are possible. It would be very strange that AVID would make a wrong statement like that. They must have tested configurations with 4 cards with 16 interaces and they must have came to the conclusion that it works. Only then AVID would write this info in the HD I/O manual and in the HDX Card Installation Guide.

So I keep wondering if a 4 card system would work…

I would like to try it out myself, but I don’t have a spare card.
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

System 1: Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.13.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate 2018.12 - HD I/O 16x16 - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x3)

System 2: Mac Pro (Mid 2010) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.9.5 - Magma PE6R4-I - PT HD 6 Accel PCI - PT HD 10.3.10 - 192D I/O - SYNC I/O
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2019, 11:24 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,337
Default Re: HDX4, is it possible?

Maybe it's a support thing? If you have a motherboard that can take more than 3 cards and provide enough power for every one of them, I cannot see why not.

But limiting systems to 3 cards makes it more straight-forward for support -- limits tend to come from the then-current equivalent of Mac Pro, which at the time of HDX release meant 3 cards max.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2019, 11:43 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,932
Default Re: HDX4, is it possible?

In the early days of HDX, on Windows, it was tested to HDX4.
Can't vouch for it now or on Mac.

Windows because back then we needed an approved chipset with PCIe lanes built in and thunderbolt chassis weren't a thing yet. But haven't tried it since 2011.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com