Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-27-2002, 11:50 PM

Default 192 I/O Analog Input problem

I'm a PT newbie with three 192 I/O's, each with a 192 A/D card, for a total of 48 analog inputs. (The system is being used for concert recording in a remote truck) When feeding 48 analog channels simultaneously, inputs 33-48 show the same signal as input 1. I have checked the I/O Setup, and it appears to be configured correctly. The front panel meters on the third 192 show the correct input, but the corresponding meters beside each fader on the mix page do not. I hope to record a concert on New Year's Eve, so I need to solve this asap, even though my local supplier and digidesign's customer support is closed for the holidays. The third 192 still sees identical input on all 16 channels (on the screen, not the front panel) when the analog input db25's are disconnected from the back. It seems that somehow, channel one is internally routed to inputs 33-48.
www.LiveWireRemote.com
Old 12-28-2002, 06:06 AM

Default Re: 192 I/O Analog Input problem

You didn't mention the size of your HD system. Presumably, it's at least an HD2 -- each HD card supports up to 32 I/O channels. So if you have an HD1, you better get a Process card fast.

If you do have the right hardware, are you sure you've made the right connections? You should have the first 192 connected to the HD core card, the second 192 connected to the Expansion port of the first 192, and the third 192 connected to the first HD Process card. If you've connected the third 192 to the Expansion port of the second, it won't work. Also, make sure your Loop Sync connections are happening.
Old 12-28-2002, 07:42 AM