Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2018, 04:00 PM
saava saava is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: prague, cz
Posts: 4
Default m-powered 8.0.5. - any other upgrade

hi guys,
my question is, i am using pt mp 8.0.5 (with iLok1), i originally was using the 7.3. version, then made the upgrade to the 8th version. is there any possibility to make some other upgrade to the 9th version? there is no such an option in my avid account.
thank you very much for your help.
saava
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2018, 11:31 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,046
Default Re: m-powered 8.0.5. - any other upgrade

There really is no advantage to moving up to version 9 that I can see. A much wiser investment would be to build a newer system based on a new version of Pro Tools(regular, NOT M-Powered). Here are some reasons I suggest this:
1-newer computers and current Pro Tools are all 64 bit, which gives a serious boost in performance
2-M-Powered is somewhat limited in what interfaces you can use(regular PT now can use almost any hardware at all)
3-if your current setup works, by building a new system allows you to keep the current system in working form(and, your old hardware is likely old enough that its time to replace it anyway)
4-as painful as a big upgrade can be, the rewards are well worth it for the new features and performance of a 64 bit system.

so, to recap, I would either do nothing and keep making music with what you have, OR, set aside enough money to buy/build a new computer and new Pro Tools software. Your old interface may still work(but there are many current options that sound better than most of the older stuff). Keep in mind that all your 3rd party plugins will need to be updated to the modern AAX format(no more RTAS).
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered 8 Essential -> M-Powered 8 Upgrade Snowblind Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 08-09-2011 07:05 AM
Help with M-Powered upgrade TG1989 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-03-2011 09:02 AM
m-powered 7.4 to m-powered 9 upgrade woodpigeonblue Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 04-20-2011 07:58 AM
M-Powered 9 upgrade jazztronauts Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 02-26-2011 02:53 PM
M-powered upgrade from 6.4 le OO1 Sean O'Rourke Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 10-31-2005 08:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com