Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2014, 11:16 AM
bkatona bkatona is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 4
Default Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

Hello, new to the forum. I am having major difficulty with the video engine in Pro Tools 11. I am on a Mac running, OS 10.9.4, and I have the latest version of Pro Tools 11. When starting Pro Tools it asks to enable toe video engine. I choose yes, and I see the green bar and the message, "waiting for the Video Engine to launch..." Then it never opens the program. Any help would be really appreciated.

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2014, 11:22 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,662
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

Try choosing NO

Launch Pro Tools, and then try enabling the video engine
SETUP>Playback Engine - and 'check' Enable Video Engine
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2014, 11:30 AM
bkatona bkatona is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

Thank you, tried that but it still will not load the engine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2014, 01:35 PM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

Do you have Media Composer installed too? I seem to remember having difficulties until I threw out all the AMA plugins from MC. Then I had to reinstall them with the latest versions only...

I didn't make this up, btw. Marianna reported it in another thread somewhere...

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2014, 11:08 AM
BrianJArmstrong BrianJArmstrong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

I have no idea how everything works "under the hood" but, sadly, the only thing that worked for me was a fresh OS X install and then a clean install of PT11 ONLY.

Now I finally have Yosemite (shhhhhhhhhh) and PT11 HD running smoothly on my new laptop.

Was pretty frustrating after shelling out 3000+ dollars for PT11HD upgrade and a new laptop to then have to run Mavericks and PT10. haha.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2014, 09:07 AM
MauricioPradillo MauricioPradillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Mexico
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

Hi everyone! Any news on this issue? I'm still having trouble playing video on pro tools, video displays just black, then PT freezes and I have to force quit it. After I quit it, i get the message "waiting for video operation to complete".

I have Pro Tools 11.2.2 running on Mac OS X 10.9.3, 8 G RAM, and this bug hasn't been fixed yet.

As far as I've been reading in forums a lot of users are experiencing the exact same issues since previous versions of PT 11. I tried everything I read on forums, I even formatted completely my mac and reinstalled PT and nothing seems to work.

I am a film composer, so the video engine is the main feature for my workflow.

Please help AVID! A lot of us are expending a lot of money hoping to get the most professional and advanced tools to work, and it turns out to be a bad choice to purchase/upgrade..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2014, 07:53 AM
edict edict is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

This might be a silly question, but...are you trying to enable the video engine with a standard user account or an admin account? I have a feeling that when I logged in as local admin I could enable the Video Engine.

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2014, 03:32 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

I can't confirm that this will fix the issue, but I seem to recall having better success after updating QuickTime and then restarting. This was on PC, but since both PT and QT are cross-platform, it stands to reason that it would have a similar effect on both operating systems.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2015, 11:28 AM
PeterScherr PeterScherr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sai Kung, Hong Kong SAR
Posts: 158
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

Hello,

Am having a problem as well with PT 11 and video
PT 11.3
Mac 10.9.5

Every time I try to load a video, I get the following error msg. Pls see screenshot attached.

Many thanks,

Peter
peterscherr@gmail.com
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Enable video engine error msg.jpg (35.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2015, 06:09 PM
PeterScherr PeterScherr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sai Kung, Hong Kong SAR
Posts: 158
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Video Engine

I think I am sorted now...

mbp i7 2ghz 8gig ram/ OS 10.9.5
PT 11.3

I called tech support and explained everything and sent in my error msg. Steve the tech asked me which codec was using and I told him H264. He told me that this was not recommended and I should use Apple Prores.

He also asked me if I had installed 11.3 on top of a previously installed version of 11 which I had done. He advised me to uninstall and reinstall from the new 11.3 installer, which was very simple, following these instructions:

"Here is a link to some instructions on how to manually remove Pro Tools 11:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...uninstall-PT11

If you wish to not remove plugins, do not delete the folder in the following directory - Mac HD/Library/Application Support/Avid/"Audio".

In addition, I would also delete the Pro Tools 11 preference files. Here's instructions on how to do that:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...nd_Preferences

If the uninstall and reinstall doesn't fix the problem, I would suggest ejecting all external drives and try again. If this fixes the problem, try connecting drives on at a time, testing in between, to see if we can narrow it down to a specific drive.

Another suggestion would be to delete all network setups in System Preferences > Network. You can do this by clicking on each network connection on the left, and clicking the minus (-) button at the bottom left. Once deleted, test Pro Tools. If all is well, then you can re-build your network settings.

As we discussed, H.264 is not a recommended codec for Pro Tools 11, and performance may vary. If the suggestion above don't correct the problem I would try recoding the video with a preferred codec. Here is a list of the codecs that are qualified for Pro Tools 11:"

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...kbase&filter=0

So I did these steps and was able to load my video into a new session and get it to play. At the default HW buffer setting I got an error msg, so I increased HW buffer size to 1024 and after that I have been fine for the moment. I don't know how this is going to go when I get into more elaborate sessions. Right now I just have two stereo tracks of audio and the video in there, but at least it's working.

Hope that this helps somebody.

Peter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Engine Problems with Pro Tools 11 mrhood Pro Tools 11 192 11-08-2015 05:09 PM
Video Engine Won't Launch in Pro Tools 11 haudio Post - Surround - Video 10 11-23-2014 08:57 AM
Pro Tools Video Engine pihahiroth Pro Tools 11 2 05-25-2014 06:55 PM
Pro Tools 10 Video Engine failed to initialize. GXTProductions Pro Tools 10 1 12-15-2013 01:54 PM
Pro Tools HD 8.01 Launching Video Engine fails? AMIEL Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-25-2009 12:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com