Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-04-2007, 12:14 AM

Default General suggestion for PC, windows, MBox2Pro users

Hello, since I’m MBox 2 Pro owner and Mac is pretty expensive for me the following will concern PC and windows configuration.

Since I consider PC-configuration to be much lottery whether PT will run or no have tested several configurations and found out that 965 chipset and Core2Duo is the most stable solution in the middle price class. Had no opportunity to measure the exact processor time but may be will later.

I’m not an expert but I suppose that if you experience troubles (get 9092 and other related HD errors) trying to play or record track there is no need in spending/wasting time on tuning your system. Simply your PC hardware is most likely not compatible with ProTools. Another words if PT works, it works without system tune. If it doesn’t, tuning won’t help.

Tuning is really necessary to get maximum speed and stability in work. The majority of advices given by digidesign tech. shows viewable performance improvement.

Greg.
Old 12-04-2007, 07:34 AM

Default Re: General suggestion for PC, windows, MBox2Pro users

There's a HUGE difference between "tuning" your system and having/using compatible and recommended and necessary parts.