Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2002, 07:51 AM
maslusher maslusher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 60
Default Help I Need New Monitors

I thinks one of the tweeters or the tweeter amp in my Crappy Behringer monitors just went out. At this point I am going to what the repair cost is but I may just buy new monitors. I would love some recomendations as to what everyone is using. Obviously I cant afford a pair of $2500 Genelics so lets keep it real.

Thanks in Advance
maslusher
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2002, 08:14 AM
Haigbabe Haigbabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 959
Default Re: Help I Need New Monitors

Greetings.

Can't speak highly enough of these...

http://www.newaudio.com.au

Price (very very reasonable) but performance of a true Hi-end monitor.

I use the 5.1 system.

Best regards,

Haigbabe
__________________
Drive fast, take chances
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2002, 08:28 AM
chriswebb chriswebb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Bear, DE USA
Posts: 72
Default Re: Help I Need New Monitors

Mackie HR824 or 624's. There are so many posts about this.....do a search, read for a week then apply vigorously to inflammed areas.
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2002, 08:38 AM
Gingley Gingley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 202
Default Re: Help I Need New Monitors

How about an $800 pair of Genelec's? Check out the 1029A's.

G.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2002, 08:45 AM
Calvin Calvin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: Help I Need New Monitors

I love my KRK v8s, however I would have to recomend getting them and a sub. I got my krk's new off of ebay for 900 bucks and I believe you can get the sub for another grand. The mid and high end are great on this monitor, but it was designed for use with a sub and dosn't have as good of lows as everyone says the mackies have alone. Frankly I believe that getting a seperate sub for the low end is much better than going just off of the monitors any way because while the mackies get better lows than my krk's, they still don't go low enough to really give you as honest of a sound as you should have. Besides when you burn your mix and take it to something like a home surround system, you can often hear things comming out of your sub that you will never hear with normal monitors. This is my opinion and I know that alot of people may disagree with me on it but thats what oppinions are for. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Calvin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mackie Monitors. Best..Monitors..Ever oettinger1919 General Discussion 11 12-12-2009 03:26 PM
Make Studio Monitors as Desktop Monitors through Mbox2 ???? dcwang3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 08-17-2007 09:02 AM
Monitors: $1500-$1800 budget . Which Active Monitors? Suggestions and Help Please. betsy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 52 12-15-2003 11:11 PM
monitor, monitors, monitors... oh my!!! storm-01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 30 12-15-2003 09:28 PM
two monitors 2 monitors Selection joepopp Tips & Tricks 1 04-03-2000 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com