Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2019, 08:39 PM
budinski budinski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 74
Default Problem hearing midi sound Kontakt 5 Duet 2

I'm not sure if I've configured all the i/o correctly. I want to use a Kontakt 5 Virtual instrument and my evolution keyboard. I can record the instrument in but I can't hear sound. And I can't record the midi onto an audio track.

Instrument track: Instrument setting: Kontakt in Kontakt out and Kontakt as the insert. i/o: I: no input O: Bus 1-2

Aux track: insert Kontakt I:Built in mic O:Built in speaker (which I change to Bus when I try to record)

Record track: no insert I: Bus 1-2 O: Built in speaker

I have Instrument track armed

With this i can only record midi through Kontakt interface, not the Evolution.

My Mac sound is set to the Duet as I/o

Looking forward to assistance! I've been trying all sorts of variations for days.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2019, 12:21 AM
budinski budinski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Problem hearing midi sound Kontakt 5 Duet 2

re my request. not sure why my info didn't show. here it is

PT LE 12.5.0
Mac 10.11.6
Apogee Duet 2
Kontakt 5 virtual instrument
Evolution MK-249C2
Fluid Audio speakers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2019, 05:00 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 249
Default Re: Problem hearing midi sound Kontakt 5 Duet 2

Why is contact on the insert in the aux track? Try just creating just an instrument track with Kontakt on it's insert, and record your midi on that instrument track, see if it works.
Also, you aren't supposed to be able to record midi on to an audio track, if I understood what you said correctly..you record it on the instrument track or create a midi track and set it to feed Kontakt on the instrument track.
If what you are trying to do is record midi playing kontakt then record that as audio, the simpler way is to record on the instrument track, then create an audio track underneath it, and drag and drop the midi clips on to the audio track and it will be converted to audio clips. Unless LE doesn't do this, but I don't know if it does or not.

I think the problem is that you have Kontakt on the insert of the aux track, it should only be on the instrument track.
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Input from keyboard, lag before hearing sound danjfoley Windows 3 01-13-2014 02:55 PM
Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard cocorico Windows 15 01-11-2014 12:45 AM
Problem hearing audio after converting from midi tonedef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-12-2006 01:43 PM
What is my problem? Can't get midi to Kontakt johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-26-2006 08:39 AM
Kontakt Midi Problem Renie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-31-2002 12:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com