Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2015, 12:40 PM
Davoetta Davoetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austria
Posts: 139
Default Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

Hi. Big troubles with my S3L-X

First of all: Inputs 9-16 on one stagebox are gone.
(Ok - Hardware defect i think)

Updated to 4.5.3 this week and now the system is loosing randomly the Engine Network Switch and so the Connection to the Stageboxes.

Any hints what to do?

Lost it in the middle of the Soundcheck - rebooted a couple of times with no success - now it seems to work. Hopefully throughout the Gig.
I have an Router thats conmected to the ECx Port. (ECx is manually configured to 192.168.1.1 and the Gateway is the Routers IP) - i tried disabling remote control - switched off the Router - booted the E3 - said lost E3 Engine Switch - switched on the router and reenabling remote control -now it seems to work.

I am following the new cabeling Guide that comes with 4.5.3.

Whats wrong here?

Any Tips?
Albin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2015, 10:59 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 262
Default Re: Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davoetta View Post
Any Tips?
Of course! How about contacting Avid support? Forum can't help you solving hardware issues...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2015, 10:56 PM
Davoetta Davoetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austria
Posts: 139
Default Re: Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

I already have, but i hoped that someone can give me a clue if that was just because of the Remote Control Option.
System played without problems the whole Gig - thank god.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2015, 01:36 AM
Karel Noon Karel Noon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Posts: 248
Default Re: Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

So you remember this Thread from me:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=368823

So there seems to be a problem with the network when using ecx.

When you unplug the remote and then do a restart everything should work fine
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2015, 03:03 AM
Davoetta Davoetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austria
Posts: 139
Default Re: Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

Rhe weird thing was -it worked normal without a Problem for 10 to 15 Minutes or so and then the error accours.
Thats weird.

Did u ever get an reply from someone at AVID?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2015, 03:36 AM
Karel Noon Karel Noon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Posts: 248
Default Re: Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

nope, no reply but i also didn`t experiement any further. up to now no more issues, but i am sure it has something to do with the network management in the E3 when using a remote
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2015, 10:58 PM
Davoetta Davoetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austria
Posts: 139
Default Re: Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

Ok - i got the Inputs working again.
Tried to "reset" the Stagebox from Venue Software - and there it was - all Inputs are here. Looks like that after the 4.5.3.3 update the reset was not made correct.

Downgraded my S3L to 4.1 - downgraded every firmware.
Upgraded to 4.5.3.3 again - now i am trying a couple of times to bring back the error.
Hopefully i will not succeed.
Keep updated here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2015, 05:37 AM
Davoetta Davoetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austria
Posts: 139
Default Re: Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

Ok - installing PlugIns and all of a sudden - the connection to E3 i/o is gone again.
Oh man thats frustrating.

One question - can anyone supply me with an 4.5.1 restore? I deleted mine by accident.
Then i will downgrade it to 4.5.1 - the last stable one.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2015, 07:48 AM
Davoetta Davoetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austria
Posts: 139
Default Re: Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

Ok. Was talking to German Support (S.E.A.) - he was told that cabling Engine - Stagebox has also to be from A-B
So he is saying that the error might come up when u connect Stagebox Port A to Engine Port A.
So i have to connect Engine Port B to Stagebox Port A with Engine Port A staying unconnected.

Thats the opposite then in the Manual of 4.5.1!

Will try that.
Anybody else have any issues with that?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2015, 05:49 AM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: Engine lost Network Switch - all of a sudden.

hmm. I'm still on 4.5.2 and everything is fine here... fingers crossed
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Engine hangs all of a sudden sonichead Post - Surround - Video 1 06-18-2015 12:03 PM
E3 Engine I/O and Network Switch Connection Error Davoetta VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 10-21-2014 09:00 AM
Buy a decent network switch... BasketCase Artist Series 2 08-16-2013 03:16 AM
mic lost signal all of a sudden while recording chalz General Discussion 6 01-17-2013 09:03 AM
Satellite LE sudden network problem Dan Pinder Post - Surround - Video 8 03-09-2010 08:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com