Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2014, 09:24 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,117
Default Core Audio handling question for Avid:

When Pro Tools is open and using the Quartet, does the Mac OS have access to the Quartet (the way it would work as a 3rd-party interface)?

Or does it lock out other applications when PT is open?
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2014, 11:15 AM
Bill@Avid's Avatar
Bill@Avid Bill@Avid is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 34
Default Re: Core Audio handling question for Avid:

Hi Nathaniel,

The Pro Tools | Quartet and Pro Tools | Duet are both multi-client core audio devices so Pro Tools will share them with other audio applications. I hope this answers your question.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2014, 11:17 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,117
Default Re: Core Audio handling question for Avid:

Yes! Very glad to hear that. I see a Quartet in my future.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2014, 12:47 AM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Core Audio handling question for Avid:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill@Avid View Post
Hi Nathaniel,

The Pro Tools | Quartet and Pro Tools | Duet are both multi-client core audio devices so Pro Tools will share them with other audio applications. I hope this answers your question.
Definitely can confirm this as I´ve been using the (silver) Quartet with PT11 for about 2 years successfully.
Have had Pro Tools 11 opened, Quartet as it´s audio engine and opened iTunes, Sony Soundforge for Mac,
Logic Pro X all at the same time and played back audio alternately from all the applications without any issues.
Quartet was set up as the audio engine in all opened applications.
Only IK Multimedia T-RackS stand alone could not be opened at that time for whatever reason, every other app
including PT 11 was working fine and playing back audio properly.

Cheers, VRW
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid core audio: HDX wrstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 06-10-2012 08:48 AM
Avid core audio: HDX wrstudio Pro Tools 10 0 03-03-2012 07:52 AM
A question of AAX assets handling sunburst79 Pro Tools 10 1 10-29-2011 01:40 PM
Question about new Avid i/o and core card guitarzzan Windows 4 06-15-2011 01:54 PM
Core Audio with Avid MC 3.1 budster Post - Surround - Video 1 03-06-2009 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com