Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2014, 11:40 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

If I were buying a system today - the new MOTU would get a VERY hard look at!
http://www.motu.com/products/avb/1248

Key features MOTU (using 1248 as example)
- Latency = 32 samples = 0.72ms @ 44.1. At 32 buffer in and out = 2.17ms
For reference - HDN = 3.35ms
- Thunderbolt connectivity (same)
- 14 analog in 18 digital, 8analog out 18 digital - (way more than Omni)
- Expandable under AVB (Ethernet) - (single CAT5 wire - how cool is this!)
- Controllable by WiFi directly - (some 3rd party solutions for AVID)
- Onboard mixer/dsp for monitoring if you want to (No AVID equivalent)
- Cost = $1500
Edits: --------------------
- No PTHD software -thanks Craig below (though ebay and ~$1400 can fix that)
- No Sync HD capability
- 32 track simultaneous I/O limit using PT (HDN is 64) Thanks to all below for clarifying

Of course how WELL it performs at low buffers, overall stability and somics have all yet to be seen but "on paper"... what does HDN have over this??
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html

Last edited by propower; 07-26-2014 at 01:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2014, 12:18 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

64 channels of I/O if using 4 HD I/Os or MADI I/O
Sync HD if you need to sync with older devices (2", VTR, analog console automation), or you want to use it's VSO capabilities
a HD software license

not that every one needs this, it's just what HDN brings that MOTU doesn't
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2014, 12:22 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

I always get tripped up on this part... If we assumed the user had an HD software license -
How many I/O channels would be seen using MOTU instead of AVID I/Os??
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2014, 12:35 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

32 Max.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2014, 01:05 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,087
Default Re: New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
32 Max.
Yes.

Non-HD software and 3rd party hardware is always 32 i/o max.

HDN comes with HD software and 64 i/o max (as in one box per system).

HDX is unlimited.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2014, 01:21 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes.

Non-HD software and 3rd party hardware is always 32 i/o max.
I assume you meant to also include:
- HD-Software and 3rd party hardware = 32 i/o max as well?
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2014, 01:32 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

Which for post is fine.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2014, 02:13 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,087
Default Re: New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
I assume you meant to also include:
- HD-Software and 3rd party hardware = 32 i/o max as well?

Yes, either non-HD software or 3rd party hardware makes it 32 i/o max.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2014, 04:39 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

OK -

CONS...
32 i/o simultaneous vs 64
No sync HD
No HD software (though we all know where to buy that)
Unknown real world performance and sonics

VS

PROS....
Lower latency
AVB inter connectivity
Built in WiFi control
various relatively inexpensive i/o expansion boxes

Not too shabby so far...
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-28-2014, 07:26 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 639
Default Re: New MOTU AVB boxes vs HD NAtive

Just to be specific, I believe that if you have more than 32 3rd party IO (up to 64?) PTHD will see all of it, but only allow you to route up to 32 in your IO window.

Which is another point, with HDIO's (or omni + aes) the number of IO's doesn't change when you change sample rates. Not sure what happens with the motu's but for interfaces that do that, it can be a hassle with naming and routing IO's and importing templates.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does HD native or native native disable plugins when monitoring inputs? BasketCase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-20-2013 09:48 AM
Curious - MOTU Video Boxes mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 7 11-29-2010 05:50 PM
PT HD9 (running native with motu) running out of memory syMPh Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-21-2010 08:34 PM
SSL4000 native/ Renmaxx native/ DUY everpack native!!! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-22-2007 08:58 AM
DIGI 001 and Motu 2048 MK II or Motu 24i+ Logic Audio cyril 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-19-2002 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com