Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2013, 03:11 PM
Roger Stauss Roger Stauss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Granville, Vermont, USA
Posts: 166
Default "Comments" window problem..Intermittent

Hey Folks,

I can't always enter text in the comments window. When I try to add or re-type the window turns white and I can't see the text. Happens in both mix and edit windows.

This has been following me since PTv9.x and several approved versions of MAC OS. Is this happening to anyone else? It's a little thing, but those notes keep me straight.

Thanks for the help.
Roger

NATIVE HD10.3.2, Mac OS 10.8.1, 12core, 2.66ghz Westmere, 24g ram.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2013, 02:26 PM
Evil Jack Evil Jack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 490
Default Re: "Comments" window problem..Intermittent

I cannot believe this bug is STILL occuring in PT10! (running 9.0.6 here)

The workaround FYI is to double click the track name/scribble strip and enter the comments in the lower section there.

Unbelievable....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2013, 03:20 PM
Roger Stauss Roger Stauss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Granville, Vermont, USA
Posts: 166
Default Re: "Comments" window problem..Intermittent

Thanks Jack. It is a stupid problem. Should be easy to fix.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2013, 04:45 PM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: "Comments" window problem..Intermittent

Yeah I just type "blind" and hope for the best. There are loads of little niggles like this that get on my [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]. I always put it down to the coders having bigger fish to fry.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2013, 01:27 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,644
Default Re: "Comments" window problem..Intermittent

No problem here. Sure the text might be a little hard to read but it's not invisible or impossible to read and work with. Granted the window is a bit on the small side, especially if you're on a monitor with a lot of resolution so you can see a LOT of stuff onscreen, but it's not impossible to work with. 27" iMac so it's small but not something I can't work with.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2013, 10:41 AM
ilovemyssl ilovemyssl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The interwebs
Posts: 217
Default Re: "Comments" window problem..Intermittent

This has been happening to me since at least PT8, maybe even before that.

It has become obvious that these are the little things that Avid simply don't care about fixing, among many others. It's what happens when you outsource all your software coding…
__________________
Pro Tools HDX // 11.3.1 HD // 2x Avid 16x16 HD I/O // 2x 192 I/O // Avid Artist Mix
2012 Mac Pro 12-core // 64Gb RAM // macOS 10.12.1
SSL 4056G
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2013, 03:51 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,644
Default Re: "Comments" window problem..Intermittent

Ran into this problem in the edit window today where I never had the problem before. Mix window was not and has not been affected with this problem. The session I was working on today I'd worked on before with no problem entering comments in the comment space in the edit window. I rarely enter first comments in the mix window. First time I've run into this.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i have a problem with "Pencil Tool". Why it's always in "square mode" ? ak11_lin macOS 6 08-25-2013 06:38 AM
PT9 BUG: "Comments" text is screwy... ilovemyssl Pro Tools 9 4 03-28-2011 01:27 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 01:28 PM
8.1 - Intermittent "Engine not responding" error when working with Reason via ReWire Rammelt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-18-2010 02:03 PM
Memory locations window "apple 5" problem foggch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-28-2010 12:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com