Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2011, 12:44 PM
grooveline grooveline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 22
Default using original mbox interface

anyone using the original mbox interface with PT9?

Have been reluctant to upgrade from 7.1 because of the need to purchase a new interface. I know Avid has stopped supporting this hardware.

PT9 seems to be compatible with more interfaces now. I know Avid still will not support the 1st gen MBox but will it work?

Anyone have first hand experience here?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2011, 12:52 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: using original mbox interface

No drivers were written for W7.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2011, 12:54 PM
grooveline grooveline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 22
Default Re: using original mbox interface

I just found it is not supported but does that mean that I won't get help when I have a problem or does that mean forget it, not recognizable?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2011, 12:56 PM
grooveline grooveline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 22
Default Re: using original mbox interface

and now I'm reading not compatible. booooooo.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2011, 05:03 AM
AndyJCP AndyJCP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 313
Default Re: using original mbox interface

As one of the other posters mentioned, the problem is that Digi. sorry. Avid are not producing any ASIO driver for Windows7 and the original Mbox.
You could (!) have two solutions:
1) There seems to be a 3rd party ASIO driver for the mbox at http://www.usb-audio.com/. I have not tested it myself, but maybe you can try
2) You could maybe stay on WindowsXP (PT9 can run on XP if you're lucky) and use the WinXP ASIO drivers for the mbox.

I'm not sure if any of those will work though...
The best way would be to get a new interface (or to use your onboard soundcard if playback is enough for you).

Cheers, Andy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2011, 06:53 AM
AndyJCP AndyJCP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 313
Default Re: using original mbox interface

I just tried the Demo driver from usb-audio and it works with my Mbox with PT9 on Windows7 (64bit).
Seems good.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2011, 11:43 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: using original mbox interface

Just get a new interface. You can get an Mbox for $100-150 on eBay!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second hand original Mbox vs new Mbox 2 Mini east 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-09-2012 05:31 PM
will pro tools 9 work on original Mbox interface bissodj Pro Tools 9 17 03-01-2012 10:56 PM
PT 9 and the original Digidesign Midi Interface. hotmits Pro Tools 9 2 02-29-2012 04:11 PM
New Mbox 2 Pro 7.4 install - dead - 7.1 was fine with original Mbox - HELP! gbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-25-2008 07:18 PM
MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original) epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-25-2007 03:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com