Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2006, 04:15 AM
spiral_staircase spiral_staircase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default Mbox 2 on Windows XP and steaming web audio etc

Hello,

I have a Mbox 2 running on Windows XP service pack 2.

The Mbox 2 working fine in all the audio applications I use for work (Protools and Nuendo).

However when I surf the web on pages like Myspace the Mbox 2 will not play the streaming audio from websites.

Also the Mbox 2 refuses to play audio from my Quicktime player and prevents Windows media player from playing .avi video files.

It seems like I need to download a codec (probably from Digidesign) to enable these features. If this is so could somebody please direct me to it, if not, please advise.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2006, 08:06 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Mbox 2 on Windows XP and steaming web audio et

The Wavedriver (the driver to play windows sound out the mbox) is installed by default when Pro Tools installs.

Details on how to use it are in the Wavedriver usage guide, and is referenced on page 13 of the Getting Started Guide.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:39 PM
spiral_staircase spiral_staircase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mbox 2 on Windows XP and steaming web audio et

Thanks.

I found a programme called MME helper which enables you to associate programmes with the wavedriver.

I have now managed to get vlc player working with sound.

However I still cannot stream audio over the web from sites such as myspace. Does anybody know which program I should associate with the wavedriver to do this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:59 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Mbox 2 on Windows XP and steaming web audio et

You need to put your browser (and possibly whatever it is using to stream the audio) in MME Helper.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2006, 05:38 PM
spiral_staircase spiral_staircase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mbox 2 on Windows XP and steaming web audio et

MME helper refuses to let firefox go in. What does myspace use to steam audio?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2006, 01:57 AM
chris bass chris bass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox 2 on Windows XP and steaming web audio et

MySpace uses a version of the Flash Player with a custom interface.

Firefox will be recognised by MME Helper as will the Flash Player- make sure you are navigating to the .exe of Firefox when you use "Add". I can stream MySpace through an mBox on a Mac - but I have noticed on a Win pc that only one app can use the wave drivers at the one time.

This means if Firefox is enabled in MME then that will grab the Wave Drivers first before the Flash Plug-in resulting in no audio.

You said you couldn't add Firefox - maybe don't bother adding it and simply add the Flash plug-in instead? I'll try it sometime.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows audio through Mbox 2? ibbod0 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-12-2013 09:41 PM
New drive for sample steaming michael c Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-27-2011 01:22 PM
Can I use my MBOX 2 PRO with Windows 7 for all purpose audio? illution 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-28-2010 02:44 AM
M-Audio keyboard, Mbox 2 and Windows 7 bigbobbysd Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-12-2010 09:37 PM
Is my Digi002 now a steaming pile of scrap? ralinzell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 12-22-2008 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com