Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2014, 11:51 AM
AntonTsygankov AntonTsygankov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Russia Moscow
Posts: 3
Default 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

Hi everyone, sorry for making a duplicate thread, I think my previous post belongs to this forum.

My name is Anton, I live in Moscow Russia and I'm sorry for my English.

Guys, it seems that I'm having same Kernel_Task problem as many 003R users out here.

I have installed Mavericks OS, (10.9.2) and now I have and PT11.1.2 and the newest Avid driver installed for my 003Rack plus. My Mac book is Mac book Pro Mid 2010 with I7. My Kernel_task is going up to 110% when I have my 003 Rack+ attached and powered-on even when Pro Tools software is off.

I mean - when I plug in my firewire cable into macbook (I have 2 to choose from, it's not the cable issue) - the Kernel_task go nuts, and jumps from 2-3% up to 70-80%. My CPU fan starts to work (with PT11 off) and when I start PT11 - it goes crazy. I get "CPU overload" message in PT11 even when there's only three or four plugins enabled. Internal PT system usage monitor shows only like 2% of CPU usage. I was able to use like 40 plugins at the same time at 10.6.8.

If I plug my firewire cable out of it's port - my Kernel_task goes down from 70% to 2-3% in a few seconds.

And if I swap my 003 with my Motu Ultra Lite Firewire - the problem goes away too. The Kernel task stays at about 2-7% with Motu card enabled.

I guess there's something wrong with the drivers.

Guys, do you have any suggestions what should I do? Is there's different drivers out there?

Regards,
Anton.
Edit/Delete Message
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2014, 02:18 PM
joey8989896 joey8989896 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Default Re: 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

Can a moderator please address this issue? I along with others have the same problem. Here are some threads about this topic:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=342284
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=344790
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=342476
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=342459

Little different: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=351013

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=341487
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2014, 08:47 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

I've forwarded this on, I'll see if I can get any info.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2014, 09:04 AM
joey8989896 joey8989896 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Default Re: 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

Thank you so much Joel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2014, 09:05 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonTsygankov View Post
Hi everyone, sorry for making a duplicate thread, I think my previous post belongs to this forum.

My name is Anton, I live in Moscow Russia and I'm sorry for my English.

Guys, it seems that I'm having same Kernel_Task problem as many 003R users out here.

I have installed Mavericks OS, (10.9.2) and now I have and PT11.1.2 and the newest Avid driver installed for my 003Rack plus. My Mac book is Mac book Pro Mid 2010 with I7. My Kernel_task is going up to 110% when I have my 003 Rack+ attached and powered-on even when Pro Tools software is off.

I mean - when I plug in my firewire cable into macbook (I have 2 to choose from, it's not the cable issue) - the Kernel_task go nuts, and jumps from 2-3% up to 70-80%. My CPU fan starts to work (with PT11 off) and when I start PT11 - it goes crazy. I get "CPU overload" message in PT11 even when there's only three or four plugins enabled. Internal PT system usage monitor shows only like 2% of CPU usage. I was able to use like 40 plugins at the same time at 10.6.8.

If I plug my firewire cable out of it's port - my Kernel_task goes down from 70% to 2-3% in a few seconds.

And if I swap my 003 with my Motu Ultra Lite Firewire - the problem goes away too. The Kernel task stays at about 2-7% with Motu card enabled.

I guess there's something wrong with the drivers.

Guys, do you have any suggestions what should I do? Is there's different drivers out there?

Regards,
Anton.
Edit/Delete Message
Anton...

I do not have a solution for your problem, but I do have a warning...you should not "hot plug" the 003R Firewire cable as it can damage the 003R.

Always make sure both the 003R and your computer are turned off before plugging/unplugging the Firewire cable. If you're "plugging", with both devices turned off connect the Firewire cable, then turn the 003R on, wait a couple of seconds (I usually wait until the Mute light illuminates on the 003R), then turn the computer on.

And good luck with finding a solution to your problem...I'm sure others here can help...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2014, 07:57 PM
joey8989896 joey8989896 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Default Re: 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
I've forwarded this on, I'll see if I can get any info.



Joel

Any info yet?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2014, 09:51 AM
AntonTsygankov AntonTsygankov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Russia Moscow
Posts: 3
Default Re: 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

Nope...((
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-2014, 07:08 AM
adamqlw adamqlw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 493
Default Re: 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

I'm suffering from this as well... Didn't pick it up until after I upgraded to ProTools 11, now I have a massive problem using my interface and I've sunk in the upgrade cost already. I know it's legacy hardware and not supported but is it really that hard to write functional drivers instead of releasing something that kills an entire core on its own?

Looking forward to an eventual fix (but I suppose I shouldn't hold my breath)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-12-2014, 06:47 AM
adamqlw adamqlw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 493
Default Re: 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

Still no info?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2015, 09:46 AM
soapfoot soapfoot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: 003 Rack Plus/ Mavericks Kernel_Task issue...please help

Hi, just checking to see if there is an update on this.

I'm experiencing the same issue, which is frustrating because it has made it impossible for me to work on my home setup (going between studio and home is a big part of my workflow).

Any update?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISSUE: Eleven Rack + OS X Mavericks + NO Pro Tools patzivota Eleven Rack 5 04-07-2014 01:20 AM
Is it possible to run PT10 with Digi003 rack under osx 10.9 mavericks ? Nonolepiano macOS 2 03-26-2014 04:15 PM
Pro Tools 10 on Mavericks Graphics/Retina issue Brytestar macOS 6 12-05-2013 04:58 PM
Eleven Rack, PT, and Mavericks ? ducmike Eleven Rack 7 12-01-2013 11:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com