Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:38 PM
PRS4LIFE PRS4LIFE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 389
Default ATTN Focusrite OctoPre users, i need your opinion

im currently using the Digimax LT. I love it to death, but im dying to try an OctoPre, and id be almost willing to get rid of it for the OctoPre. But there are a couple of things though that turn me off about it.

1. There is not a pad option on any of the channels. Which I tend to use on some channels of my DigimaxLT. What I want to know is, for people that like that option and have an OctoPre how does one deal with it? Also does the Compressor/Limiter on it make up for that? Cause it says "Each channel also features a compressor / limiter circuit, providing a warm-sounding compressor, which morphs into a brick wall limiter to avoid those critical overs, ensuring total control over all eight channels."

2. The ADAT route is optional. Another $200 just so I can use it via ADAT. I mean I guess they can do that cause they're focusrite and Digi and Focusrite have a relationship.

Maybe im just dying to hear how much of a difference there is between the two. Any thoughts/suggestions?
__________________
iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB 667 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM, Guitar Rig Session I/O, M-Audio Axiom25, Pro Tools 10.1.3, Mackie Mr8mkII Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:52 PM
rockrev rockrev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 537
Default Re: ATTN Focusrite OctoPre users, i need your opinion

I'm using one now and I love it. The pad thing does stink, but I haven't really had the need for them yet. I do have line attenuators that I could insert before the inuputs if I needed to (still, it would be a pain having to do that). If you overload the pre the limiter will not save you. If you have a good signal and the pre isn't overloaded, then the limiter will catch overs (though I try to avoid it and keep an unaltered signal). Best advice - never overload a clean pre like that in the first place. The limiter is useful and the compressor is too - pretty smooth for one control. I'd be careful what you use the compressor on, however. I found it works great on vox, acoustic guitar, and bass. On transients I'd only use the limiter as a safety.

Ah yes, the $200 card. Well, you gotta have it if you want additional tracking abilities. We bought our Octopre through Sweetwater, and they installed/warranteed the work for $30. It was worth it IMO.

rockrev

BTW - We have some older Focusrite Green Range gear - the Octopre sounds just as good - even better b/c of the higher caliber converters. You won't be sorry.
__________________
End world poverty: ONE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:57 PM
Camilo Toledo Camilo Toledo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wash. D.C. / Maryland
Posts: 1,910
Default Re: ATTN Focusrite OctoPre users, i need your opinion


Holly Toledo!! they named that city after my grand grand father...

You'll be making a lateral move, and if you don't get the digital out, you'll be better off with your digimax.

Save your money for something high end.
__________________
Camilo Toledo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2005, 02:37 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: ATTN Focusrite OctoPre users, i need your opinion

just beware the Octopre doesnt have any inserts
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003R+ rack with octopre VS Focusrite Octopre x2 through M-audio Lightbridge Sweepxcore General Discussion 12 05-24-2009 06:44 PM
Need an opinion - DigiMax or OctoPre dpirrocco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-28-2004 11:25 AM
Need an opinion - DigiMax or OctoPre dpirrocco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-28-2004 03:37 AM
Need users opinion: New digi users domain name (unofficial).. David Fisher General Discussion 2 07-30-2002 09:27 PM
the new Focusrite OctoPre Bob Mould Tips & Tricks 1 01-24-2002 05:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com