Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 10-25-2019, 02:47 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,193
Default Re: PT restarts automatically after closing it

Already a couple of threads about this.
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...hlight=restart
__________________
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6

Last edited by ChuckS; 10-25-2019 at 03:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-25-2019, 03:57 PM
Jordan_J Jordan_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
This has been pretty well resolved back to the Ilok driver. It has been advised to roll back.
Can you, please, provide a link where this issue has been discussed and resolved?

Thanks a lot in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-25-2019, 04:02 PM
Elfuello Elfuello is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT restarts automatically after closing it

Without solution and only one post, sorry. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-25-2019, 04:03 PM
Jordan_J Jordan_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
This happens here also. In the event viewer, the crash references ucrtbase.dll which is a Windows Visual C++ runtime file. So basically any plug/module/etc written in C++ could be causing the crash. Another side issue of this is that it creates crash dumps every time you exit PT so there could be gigabytes of dumps accumulating if you don't use a cleaner app. Check here for files: C:\Users\~yourusername\AppData\Local\CrashDumps

Thing is that even if you don't get the restart issue, PT is still crashing on quit and creating crash dumps on exit. Anyone any good at reading those may be able to isolate the issue.
Check this thread out:

https://superuser.com/questions/1397...o-ucrtbase-dll

I will try to resolve it as explained here.

P.S. Reinstalled the Windows 10 SDK (26624) but it didn't resolve the issue.

Also checked for crash reports - I don't have any since 2018! It seems that Pro Tools doesn't crash. At least the crash reports suggest that. How to fix this?!

Last edited by Jordan_J; 10-25-2019 at 05:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-27-2019, 03:10 AM
Jordan_J Jordan_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

PROBLEM SOLVED!

The problem really is the iLok driver.

I uninstalled the latest iLok driver that I had currently in use.

Went to https://www.ilok.com/#!resource/legacy and downloaded the legacy version installer LicenseSupportInstallerWin64_v2_4_8_r37293.zip

Installed it and PROBLEM SOLVED!

Thanks a lot for the tip @guitardom!
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-27-2019, 04:12 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 858
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

I'm glad that solved your problem, but why on earth should you need to use a legacy iLok driver to keep your application from restarting? That is some really weird behavior, and hopefully Avid will have that one fixed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan_J View Post
PROBLEM SOLVED!

The problem really is the iLok driver.

I uninstalled the latest iLok driver that I had currently in use.

Went to https://www.ilok.com/#!resource/legacy and downloaded the legacy version installer LicenseSupportInstallerWin64_v2_4_8_r37293.zip

Installed it and PROBLEM SOLVED!

Thanks a lot for the tip @guitardom!
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 10-27-2019, 09:49 AM
Elfuello Elfuello is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 5
Default Problem solved :-)

Latest iLok driver makes the problem!

1) Uninstall PACE (iLok Manager) from you Windows Aplications

2) Install iLok (Pace) driver 2.4.8 (x64):
http://installers.ilok.com/iloklicen...4_8_r37293.zip

3) Restart system.

Now my Pro Tools 2019.6 has no problems.
CHEERS!
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10-27-2019, 10:27 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 304
Default Re: Problem solved :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elfuello View Post
Latest iLok driver makes the problem!

1) Uninstall PACE (iLok Manager) from you Windows Aplications

2) Install iLok (Pace) driver 2.4.8 (x64):
http://installers.ilok.com/iloklicen...4_8_r37293.zip

3) Restart system.

Now my Pro Tools 2019.6 has no problems.
CHEERS!
Just did this and it worked.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Nuendo 10 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:58 PM
Jordan_J Jordan_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrichard View Post
I'm glad that solved your problem, but why on earth should you need to use a legacy iLok driver to keep your application from restarting? That is some really weird behavior, and hopefully Avid will have that one fixed.
That's the question that we're all trying to figure out.

Hopefully iLok will fix it with a soon update!
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-28-2019, 04:53 AM
jehjinho jehjinho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Odivelas
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

really?

I did the rollback and now my pro tools 2019.6 requires a newer version of licence support software in order to run...

so, no solution here...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12.7 .0.676 Install Update Prompt Endless Loop AVIDIVA Pro Tools 12 2 12-22-2016 02:26 AM
Activating my PT9 to PT10-PT11 upgrade is an endless loop? mike_mccue Windows 1 06-23-2013 04:45 PM
Core audio - sound stuck in endless loop lpbaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-23-2010 09:03 AM
Bounce to Disk creates endless loop boneboy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-13-2006 09:05 PM
Need Help with endless loop Mark Manela Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-28-2002 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com