Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2019, 04:38 PM
clgood clgood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 42
Default Can't Relink audio in an AAF import

I got an AAF for a short film. The video imports, but all of the audio clips are flagged as missing. I can see (and hear) them in the folder that came with the AAF. When I try to find the clips (searching by File ID or File ID and Name) the result I get is "Some Files to Relink Not Found". What's the trick?

__________________
--

Craig Good
Teller of stories, some of them true.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2019, 06:22 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,431
Default Re: Can't Relink audio in an AAF import

They don't have IDs (ID column is empty) so you have to relink by name only. ID and Name will only relink if both match.
That said, PT's relink code has been broken for years so there are cases when it won't see files that match name and ID. Sometimes it helps to trash the volume database and update the index sometimes you have go full-manual.

But in your case just "by name" should work.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2019, 06:51 PM
clgood clgood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 42
Default Re: Can't Relink audio in an AAF import

Well, blow me down and call me shorty. I was sure I had tried by Name only. In any case, this time it worked. So you're today's hero. Thanks!
__________________
--

Craig Good
Teller of stories, some of them true.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2019, 02:41 AM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 225
Default Re: Can't Relink audio in an AAF import

Yeah PT often loses connection of files when moving between machines or importing stuff. Linking by name is the only thing that really works.
I have been using PT for about 8 years and I’m pretty sure it has never worked as intended.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:03 PM
clgood clgood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 42
Default Re: Can't Relink audio in an AAF import

From what I gather it's never been a strong suit at Avid.
__________________
--

Craig Good
Teller of stories, some of them true.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2019, 10:02 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: Can't Relink audio in an AAF import

I've never really understood the relink thing. Just last night I opened a session I created over the weekend. I've not moved anything or deleted anything since I last worked on it. Opened it this morning and I get the "missing audio files" screen and it starts searching. It found everything fine...they were right where I left them with the last save. So, why the heck does PT not find them on the next opening of that session? Weird!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2019, 02:39 AM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 225
Default Re: Can't Relink audio in an AAF import

Yup. It’s super weird. If you open the session on another machine it Wil 99% of the time, say that the file isn’t there. Even though it is right there in the folder.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't relink old audio files teleman Pro Tools 12 5 07-25-2016 12:14 PM
Relink Fieldrecorder Tracks to AAF Import With Automatic Duck from FCP GuidoHelbling Post - Surround - Video 0 01-23-2014 03:17 AM
Can't relink audio after mac to pc transfer flowetic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-27-2011 05:28 PM
cannot relink audio files OrangeDerek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 05-14-2006 09:39 PM
can't relink audio files Dave Terry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-12-2006 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com