Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2019, 09:02 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Trimmer Tool very hard to see

This has been an ongoing issue for me, so I thought I'd ask about it here. Whenever I need to use the trimmer tool, I find it very hard to locate and see on the screen so I can line it up to trim whatever it is I want to trim. Sometimes I have to make 5-6 swipes with the mouse to finally find it on my screen and get it lined up where I need it. This is especially problematic when trimming MIDI notes, but its an issue for audio tracks as well.


Is there anything I can do to make the trimmer tool graphic more visible or larger on my screen? Sometimes it seems to disappear altogether its so faint.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2019, 03:15 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,921
Default Re: Trimmer Tool very hard to see

I know your struggle What size screen and resolution are you using?(just wondering if a bigger screen would help). I run a 43" 1080P TV above a 27" LED monitor(also 1920x1080). I find that putting the brightness on the TV down around 50% helps a bit(as does fussing with the contrast setting). There is also(in the Control Panel>Mouse setup) an option(check box) to have a flashing circle around the cursor when you hit the Ctrl key(not using that now, but have in the past and it was a help).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2019, 03:26 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Trimmer Tool very hard to see

If you're scaling your display by a percentage in Display Settings, this can cause issues. If so, scale to 100% and change the display resolution instead if you need to.
__________________
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2019, 08:56 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,172
Default Re: Trimmer Tool very hard to see

While it is small, the ]['s appearance also depends on where it is vertically in relation to the material on the Timeline. At least for audio I've found that if it's near the center of the track at the audio's edge, it goes to very small dots and isn't quite solid. I usually keep the track I'm working in as large depth-wise as possible. As always, YMMV.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2019, 10:03 AM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 485
Default Re: Trimmer Tool very hard to see

I would certainly appreciate the option to do something about this, yeah. Perhaps a bold mode for the icon, or something to that effect.

I'm sure they'll get right on it if we ask. :)
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2019, 12:41 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: Trimmer Tool very hard to see

Thanks for the tips. At least I know it isn't just me!!!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2019, 02:19 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,988
Default Re: Trimmer Tool very hard to see

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftalive View Post
I would certainly appreciate the option to do something about this, yeah. Perhaps a bold mode
^^^ This ^^^
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2019, 02:47 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: Trimmer Tool very hard to see

I like the "Bold Mode" idea too! It happened to me again this morning. I had to swipe with my mouse like 8 times before I was finally able to locate the stupid trimmer icon on the edit window! Geesh!



__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quickeys and TCE /trimmer tool fork-media Post - Surround - Video 3 07-17-2015 05:55 AM
Trimmer tool question! critza 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 01-17-2010 05:56 PM
Help! Trimmer tool and automation Jitter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-10-2009 04:11 AM
Trimmer tool question scottwilson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-29-2008 09:56 PM
Trimmer tool (is this a bug?) sburgess Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-23-2001 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com