Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-07-2018, 11:40 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,609
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

Do you mean the Eleven Rack monitor is always ON?

Like this
https://youtu.be/TbRnyt6PVjc

This has already been reported to Avid (again) recently.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-07-2018, 11:43 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

Nobody else is reporting this problem, it likely is something specific to your systems, there is probably nothing for anybody else to investigate.

Can you test the Eleven Rack on another system? The symptoms you have are of the local monitoring path muting not happening. Which (unhelpfully) could be caused by hardware, driver or Pro Tools issues.

If you can roll back and if the problem goes away you know it's some software/driver issue on your system. Or grab a spare partition and do a clean macOS install and bare minimal driver, ILM and Pro Tools install and see if that works. If' you'v been doing in-situ macOS upgrades that's higher risk that upgrades mess things up.

You can also try doing a memory reset on the Eleven Rack. I think there may have been some failed Eleven Racks in the past where the automatic muting of local monitoring stops working. Certainly have been problems on Windows with messed up driver installs that can cause that.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-07-2018, 11:56 AM
cryshark cryshark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 18
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

to benoni - That's the problem!! Unfortunately, switching low latency monitoring does not help. :-( that would have been a big deal.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-07-2018, 12:09 PM
cryshark cryshark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 18
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

I want to try that. I have an iMac i7 in the studio tomorrow. There it works without problems. but that's too dangerous for me. Here it has worked well until I have updated to 2018.10.
If someone could test it!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-07-2018, 12:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Do you mean the Eleven Rack monitor is always ON?

Like this
https://youtu.be/TbRnyt6PVjc

This has already been reported to Avid (again) recently.
I think that's only been reported in the past by Benoni and others on Windows? (what I was referring to in another post). I'm not sure this has been seen by others on Mac... or this could new a new report of it. If toggling low latency monitoring fixes this then letting Avid know its being seen on Mac would be great.

I don't have this problem with 2018.10 (full clean install on *Mojave* (so different) on a 2017 MBP with latest Eleven Rack drivers (so same)).
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-07-2018, 12:44 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,609
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
I think that's only been reported in the past by Benoni and others on Windows? (what I was referring to in another post). I'm not sure this has been seen by others on Mac... or this could new a new report of it. If toggling low latency monitoring fixes this then letting Avid know its being seen on Mac would be great.

I don't have this problem with 2018.10 (full clean install on *Mojave* (so different) on a 2017 MBP with latest Eleven Rack drivers (so same)).
It has recently been reported on Mac and logged as a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-07-2018, 12:47 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,609
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryshark View Post
I want to try that. I have an iMac i7 in the studio tomorrow. There it works without problems. but that's too dangerous for me. Here it has worked well until I have updated to 2018.10.
If someone could test it!
What exactly did you change before this started?

I can't test it as I use Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-07-2018, 10:41 PM
cryshark cryshark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 18
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

I only updated to 2018.10. I only use my Mac for music. A Scarlett 2i2 works without problems.


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-08-2018, 10:36 AM
cryshark cryshark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 18
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

Hello, I have a new insight. On my Mac Mini 2012 i7 with High Sierra and ProTools 2018.1 the same problem. Looks like the device itself has a defect.


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-08-2018, 10:39 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default Re: Eleven Rack ignored ProTools

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryshark View Post
Hello, I have a new insight. On my Mac Mini 2012 i7 with High Sierra and ProTools 2018.1 the same problem. Looks like the device itself has a defect.


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
You can try a user options > memory reset on the front panel. Otherwise a used or new Eleven Rack is pretty cheap.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack Re-Amp monitoring not working Ennimusic Eleven Rack 13 04-19-2015 12:25 PM
Eleven Rack monitoring? saheyl macOS 1 02-01-2013 10:53 PM
Eleven Rack & in-ear monitoring DonaldR Eleven Rack 1 03-10-2012 05:50 PM
Vocalrecording - Eleven Rack - Low Latency Monitoring? wiseman Eleven Rack 8 07-01-2011 06:52 AM
Direct Monitoring with Digi 002 Rack iCymiCy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-31-2009 07:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com