Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-28-2017, 09:26 AM
rjashcraft rjashcraft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sweetwater, TN
Posts: 3
Default Re: Playback won't start at Timeline Selection Point

Was having the same issue today... FOUND THE SOLUTION by trial and error. I also thought I hit some button by mistake and it seems the "Insertion Follows Playback" button is the culprit. Needs to be unchecked. It is towards the top of the Edit Window under the pencil tool.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-28-2017, 06:46 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,149
Default Re: Playback won't start at Timeline Selection Point

Or, if you're in Commands Focus Mode, the "N" key will toggle "insertion Follows Playback" on and off. Easy to hit the "N" key by mistake.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-28-2018, 07:40 AM
Karthiklambo Karthiklambo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 1
Default Re: Playback won't start at Timeline Selection Point

Folks go to the options menu, Down there check whether "Link Timeline and Edit selection" is ticked, if not enable it. Done!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-23-2019, 05:11 PM
mattdaddy mattdaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
Default Re: Playback won't start at Timeline Selection Point

Extremely late for this but I'm still using PT10 and once I unchecked Quickpunch under the Options tab, the timeline stopped jumping back to the start.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-24-2019, 09:18 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 513
Default Re: Playback won't start at Timeline Selection Point

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdaddy View Post
Extremely late for this but I'm still using PT10 and once I unchecked Quickpunch under the Options tab, the timeline stopped jumping back to the start.
Yep old thread, this was/is an issue on the Mac. If Quickpunch is enabled without a track record enabled the cursor behaves like this. Turn off Quickpunch if you're not recording.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3? Richard901 Pro Tools 10 32 02-02-2015 08:35 AM
How to punch a selection but start playback before the selection... shotgunndunn macOS 1 01-19-2012 05:45 PM
Timeline/cursor start point? BilboMcP Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 07-01-2008 02:04 AM
Selection Point Playback Benjamin Golby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-07-2007 05:58 PM
Selection Point Playback Benjamin Golby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-07-2007 03:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com