Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2011, 03:48 AM
yazoo yazoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 58
Exclamation importing production dialog to protools for XMLpro workflow

Hi all!

We are using XMLpro from Gallery to make XML-lists to Protools Sessions.

I have Production dialog that I want to import to PT (not copy) so I can relink to the original files.

The problem is that it takes very long time for protools to import files even though Im not making a copy.

Any suggestions?

/Benny
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2011, 06:34 AM
José Luis Díaz José Luis Díaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 166
Default Re: importing production dialog to protools for XMLpro workflow

Hi Benny,

We use XMLPro daily. In our workflow it doesn't take much time to relink PT sessions created by XMLPro with production sound. Just a normal search time. If you narrow the searching options to the correct folder it is almost instantaneous.
Did you previously extracted the iXML metadata from production sound and sent it to FCP in a XML file?
Do you know if FCP assistant have imported that XML and then the sound files?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2011, 07:16 AM
yazoo yazoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: importing production dialog to protools for XMLpro workflow

Thanks.

My plan was to import all production audio in one session, about 250GB of audio. Its 8track monofiles recorded with SD744.

My thought was that the dialog editor has the fredom ti choose between all scenes and all takes thru one session.

Is this a bad idea?

/benny
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2011, 08:09 AM
José Luis Díaz José Luis Díaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 166
Default Re: importing production dialog to protools for XMLpro workflow

Hi Benny,
Well, I do think it is a bad idea to import the entire production sound into one PT session, because it´s just a lot of material (250Gb).
What we do here, is to import only the production sound of the scenes involved in that reel we are editing.
We organize our movie in reels, and each reel has its PT session. So, when we´re working on that specific reel, we import the production sound of the scenes of that reel and leave them on a side of the timeline, so the dialog editor can choose between takes with no problems.
I really suggest you to go to this link and read a document we wrote talking exactly about this kind of workflow.
Here´s the link:
http://www.jldiaz.com.ar/lectura-en.php?name=FCPaXMLaPT

Best,
José Luis Díaz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dialog editors: clicks and pops on production ! bennym Post - Surround - Video 11 03-03-2010 09:43 AM
dialog editing workflow questions.. MrRippie Post - Surround - Video 10 06-13-2008 05:16 PM
Field Production mics used in Post dialog replacemt? Hank5 Post - Surround - Video 3 04-02-2007 01:05 PM
Post production workflow question epd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-25-2006 09:30 AM
Dialog/Production Sound clean-up Noisyone Post - Surround - Video 1 09-25-2004 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com