Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:31 PM
mdulation mdulation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: AZ
Posts: 4
Default Daisy chain?

i am thinking about dasiy chaining 4 250g fw800 drives together, it seems to be digidesign approved according to their site. just wondering if anybody has ever had problems daisy chaining this many drives together? The drives are still on order. in the past i have done this with 2 drives which worked fine but not 4.
current setup is:
G5 dual 2ghz, OSX 10.4.6, 2.5 gig of ram, sata 7200rpm for system drive, and another sata 7200rpm for audio, Protools 7.1.8, HD3.
mostly have been working at 48k with no problems and sometimes 96k with for the most part no problems but sometimes at 96k protools cannot get info off the drive fast enough, the sessions i am working on are very big, usaully 60+ tracks, want to start using higher sample rates and wondering if this new daisy chained drive setup would help readtime and stability.
As i understand its the drives that can not read the data fast enough, not the firewire buss being too busy?
Comments, experiences?
what other options are there?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2006, 09:06 PM
mantisgroove mantisgroove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: Daisy chain?

I don't know about your specific issue, but if there is any way to cancel your order you should really look into getting a PCI eSATA card, and using Serial ATA II (3Gb/s) hard drives. They would be more reliable and the performance would be substantially inproved, requiring less drives.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2006, 04:39 PM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Daisy chain?

SATA II is nice... We're heading that way. Right now we have up to 6 FW glyph drives on any given system, some systems with over 3 TB of space. We don't have any drive based performance issues but we do everything at 48Khz 16bit wity between 25 and 50 tracks on any given session on any given system.

cheers
geo
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daisy chain...should I? Sam C macOS 5 12-01-2011 09:16 PM
How to daisy chain??? mutley Storage Subsystems 1 09-20-2009 08:17 PM
Can't daisy chain HD with 003!!! Pls Help!!! sureno 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-25-2009 06:20 PM
How to ? A daisy chain ! jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-30-2009 11:43 PM
studio setup - midi - to "daisy chain" or not to daisy chain - do I want a multiport Joseph Anderson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-24-2002 03:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com