Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2018, 09:37 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,974
Default Mastering/advice help Ozone 8

Hello guys

Trying to get my masters loud like commercial songs but struggling a bit. Brought ozone 8 in the Black Friday sale. I know for iTunes you want to hit -14 LUFS and set the limit to -1 but my tracks are still quiet compared to commercial ones. Am I doing something wrong or are there any bits of advice people can share to help me please. I know mastering is a art and skill that takes years to learn but I just want to get close to a commercial track if possible.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2018, 10:25 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,471
Default Re: Mastering/advice help Ozone 8

Are you using the Master Assistant feature? If not, give it a try(the Streaming option might be exactly the place to start). Also, maybe have a song or two done at a dedicated mastering house and use that(those) as a benchmark for your own mastering of the rest of the project(Ozone has a great feature of allowing you to import tracks for A>B comparison). I used that feature and my comp tune was off the last Toto CD and it was LOUD!!! It took some fussing, but I was able to push my own masters close enough. I hope the days of slammed masters are behind us, but be thoughtful in what commercial tunes you compare to(don't use the last Nickelback CD)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2018, 10:46 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,974
Default Re: Mastering/advice help Ozone 8

Yep I use the mastering assistant which does quite a good job I think and then I tweak things a little bit.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ozone 5 mastering plug-in Karma180 Pro Tools Software (Win) 0 04-26-2014 11:10 AM
mastering with ozone & TL mastermeter rockizoid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-27-2009 04:12 PM
///ozone mastering tips onepercentfree 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-04-2009 09:27 AM
mastering with ozone usd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-27-2007 10:42 AM
Is anyone using Izotope Ozone for mastering?? Ruben_B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-13-2004 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com